CSWEP: Carolyn Shaw Bell Award

The Carolyn Shaw Bell Award was created in January 1998 as part of the 25th Anniversary celebration of the founding of CSWEP. Carolyn Shaw Bell, the Katharine Coman Chair Professor Emerita of Wellesley College, was the first Chair of CSWEP. (To read a short biography of Carolyn Shaw Bell, see our Winter 2005 Newsletter.) The Carolyn Shaw Bell Award (“Bell Award”) is given annually to an individual who has furthered the status of women in the economics profession, through example, achievements, increasing our understanding of how women can advance in the economics profession, or mentoring others. The 2022 Carolyn Shaw Bell award will be presented at the CSWEP business meeting at the 2023 AEA meetings in New Orleans, LA.

Detailed guidance on the criterion used by the selection committee is available here.

2022 Call for Nominations: Carolyn Shaw Bell Award

2021 Carolyn Shaw Bell Award: Joyce P. Jacobsen

Dr. Joyce P. Jacobsen, President of Hobart and William Smith Colleges, is the recipient of the 2021 Carolyn Shaw Bell Award. Professor Jacobsen is the first woman to serve as the president of Hobart and William Smith Colleges.  Dr. Jacobsen is an important scholar of labor economics and the economics of gender. Her textbook, The Economics of Gender has become the standard in the field.  In addition to her scholarship, Professor Jacobsen is an award-winning teacher, generous citizen of the profession, an exceptional advisor and mentor, and a respected and skillful academic leader.  View the full announcement.





2021 Carolyn Shaw Bell Award Presentation with an introduction by nominators and supporters:


Carolyn Shaw Bell Award Recipients