## DR. MARGARET GARRITSEN DE VRIES RECIPIENT OF THE 2002 CAROLYN SHAW BELL AWARD

Dr. Margaret Garritsen de Vries is the 2002 recipient of the Carolyn Shaw Bell Award. This award will be given to Dr. de Vries at the annual business meeting of the American Economics Association's Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession (CSWEP) on Friday January 3rd, which will be from 4:45-5:45 PM in the Latrobe Room of the Washington Grand Hyatt Hotel. A reception will follow in the Durnham Room until 7:30 to honor Dr. de Vries and the winner of the Elaine Bennet Prize. It is not necessary to register for the AEA/ASSA meetings to attend these two events.

Dr. Margaret deVries, a 1946 Ph.D. from MIT (under Professor Samuelson), spent almost all of her career at the IMF. She was in the second entering doctoral class at MIT and one of the first staff members of the Fund. She headed country missions to Islamic countries, showing that gender was not an issue for Fund personnel. She became the first woman Division Chief at the Fund in 1957. It is believed that no other woman achieved that status until the 1970s. She mentored women and encouraged them throughout her career. Eventually, Dr. de Vries became the Fund's historian, a position she held until her retirement.

The Carolyn Shaw Bell Award was created in January 1998 as part of the 25<sup>th</sup> Anniversary celebration of the founding of CSWEP. Carolyn Shaw Bell, the Katharine Coman Chair Professor Emerita of Wellesley College, was the first Chair of CSWEP. The Bell award is given annually to an individual who has furthered the status of women in the economics profession, through example, achievements, increasing our understanding of how women can advance in the economics profession, or mentoring of others.

Previous award winners have included Alice Rivlin of the Brookings Institution, Sandra Ohrn Moose of Boston Consulting Group, Eva Mueller, Professor Emerita of the University of Michigan, Francine Blau of Cornell University, and Marianne Ferber, Professor Emerita of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champagne.

Carolyn wrote in the CSWEP 25<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Newsletter in Fall of 1997:

"We need every day to herald some woman's achievements, to tout a woman's book or painting or scholarly article, to brag about a promotion or prize and to show admiration for the efforts and influence of women, in their professional and technical and social and human endeavors of all kinds."

In the spirit of her words, the award requires that the "master" plaque be displayed prominently in a public place in the winner's local area so that others can see the achievements of the winner.

CSWEP represents women's points of views in the committee work of the American Economic Association (AEA), monitors the progress of women within the profession, and makes an annual report to the AEA on the status of women in economics. CSWEP associates are women and men in the diverse areas of the profession – in academia, government, and business.

For further information, please contact: Barbara M. Fraumeni, Chair of the Bell Award Committee (email at <u>Barbara.Fraumeni@bea.gov</u>, phone at (202)606-9603) or Joan G. Haworth, Chair of CSWEP (email at <u>jhaworth@ersnet.com</u>, phone at (850)562-1211, ext. 117). CSWEP's website is at <u>www.cswep.org</u>.