

BARBARA FRAUMENI NAMED RECIPIENT OF THE 2006 CAROLYN SHAW BELL AWARD

Barbara Fraumeni is the 2006 recipient of the Carolyn Shaw Bell Award. This award will be presented at the annual business meeting of the American Economics Association's (AEA) Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession (CSWEP) on Friday, January 5, 2007, from 5:00-6:00 pm in the Columbian Room of the Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel. A reception will follow in the Picasso Room to honor Professor Fraumeni and the winner of the Elaine Bennett award, Professor Monika Piazzesi. It is not necessary to register for the AEA/ASSA meetings to attend these two events.

Barbara Fraumeni, Professor of Public Policy and Chair of the Ph.D. Program in Public Policy at the Muskie School of Public Service, University of Southern Maine, is a leading authority on economic growth, productivity, non-market accounts, and human and nonhuman capital. In November 2006 the U.S. Department of Commerce awarded Professor Fraumeni the Gold Medal, its highest honor, for creating an R&D Satellite Account that treats R&D as investment and can be used to assess its contribution to economic growth and competitiveness during her tenure as Chief Economist at the Bureau of Economic Analysis. A former CSWEP board member, Professor Fraumeni is a tireless champion for women's advancement in the economics profession. As a program officer at the National Science Foundation she shepherded the Creating Career Opportunities for Female Economists (CCOFFE) junior faculty mentoring grant proposal through its early phase and she subsequently served as a mentor in the first national workshop and coordinator of the Eastern regional workshop.

The Carolyn Shaw Bell Award was created in January 1998 as part of the 25th Anniversary celebration of the founding of CSWEP. Carolyn Shaw Bell, who was the Katharine Coman Chair Professor Emerita of Wellesley College, was also the first Chair of CSWEP. The Bell award is given annually to an individual who has furthered the status of women in economics profession, through example, achievements, increasing our understanding of how women can advance in the economics profession, and the mentoring of others. Previous winners included Alice Rivlin of the Brookings Institute; Sandra Ohrm Moose of the Boston Consulting Group; Eva Mueller, Professor Emerita of the University of Michigan; Francine Blau of Cornell University; Marianne Ferber, Professor Emerita of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Margaret Garritsen de Vries, retired from the International Monetary Fund; Robin Bartlett of Denison University, Barbara Bergmann, Professor Emerita of the American University and the University of Maryland, and Claudia Goldin, the Henry Lee Professor of Economics at Harvard University. Carolyn Shaw Bell wrote in the CSWEP's 25th Anniversary Newsletter in fall 1997:

"We need everyday to herald some woman's achievements, to tout a woman's book or painting or scholarly article, to brag about a promotion or prize and to show admiration for the efforts and influence of women, in their professional and technical and social and human endeavors of all kinds."

In the spirit of her words, the award requires that the "master" plaque be displayed prominently in a public place in the winner's local area so that others can see the achievements of the winner.

CSWEP represents women's point of views in the committee work of the AEA, monitors the progress of women within the profession, and makes an annual report to the AEA on the status of women in economics. CSWEP associates are women and men in the diverse area of the profession—in academia, government and business. For further information please visit our website—www.cswep.org