PROFESSORS FRANCINE BLAU AND MARIANNE FERBER RECIPIENTS OF THE CAROLYN SHAW BELL AWARD

It was announced at the Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession's (CSWEP) reception at the Allied Social Science Association Convention in Atlanta that Francine Blau, Frances Perkins Professor of Industrial and Labor Relations, Cornell University, and Marianne Ferber, Professor Emerita, Department of Economics, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, are the 2001 co-recipients of the Carolyn Shaw Bell Award.

The Carolyn Shaw Bell Award was created in January 1998 as part of the 25th Anniversary celebration of the founding of CSWEP. Carolyn Shaw Bell, the Katharine Coman Chair Professor Emerita of Wellesley College, was the first Chair of CSWEP. The Bell award is given annually to an individual who has furthered the status of women in the economics profession, through example, achievements, increasing our understanding of how women can advance in the economics profession, or mentoring of others.

Both recipients have had a distinguished career and were founding members of organizations devoted to the furthering of women in economics or the study of feminist economics. They have been co-authors, most notably of The Economics of Women, Man and Work, (the latest edition with Anne Winkler), a standard text on women in the economy. Professor Blau graduated from Cornell University in 1966 with a B.S. in Industrial and Labor Relations and from Harvard University in 1975 with a Ph.D. in Economics. She spent almost 20 years at the University of Illinois as a colleague of Professor Ferber in the Economics Department before moving to Cornell University in 1994.

She was a member of the first CSWEP Board in 1972-5. Professor Blau has been president of the Industrial Relations Research Association and the Midwest Economics Association and Vice-President of the American Economic Association. She has served in an editorial capacity for the American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Perspectives, Journal of Labor Economics, Industrial Relations. Feminist Economics, and other journals. Professor Ferber graduated from McMaster University in 1944 with a B.A. in Economics and from the University of Chicago in 1954 with a Ph.D. in Economics. She has spent almost all of her academic career in the Department of Economics of the University of Illinois. She was a founding member of the International Association for Feminist Economics (IAFFE). She has been as president of IAFFE and the Midwest Economics Association. She has served in an editorial capacity for Feminist Economics. Review of Social Economics, Women and Work, and other journals.

In nominating letters, Blau was cited for her willingness to mentor, remaining accessible even when highly successful, and being a role model for professional economists, as well as for her research on women. This research began with her path-breaking dissertation Equal Pay in the Office. Ferber was cited for being a wonderful example to students for decades, a teacher and researcher who followed her heart, focusing her work on benefiting women. With Julie Nelson she edited Beyond Economic Man: Feminist Theory and Economics, a book which a nominator claims marked the beginning of academic respectability for femi-

nist economics.

Carolyn wrote in the CSWEP 25th Anniversary Newsletter in the Fall of 1997:

"We need every day to herald some woman's achievements, to tout a woman's book or painting or scholarly article, to brag about a promotion or prize and to show admiration for the efforts and influence of women, in their professional and technical and social and human endeavors of all kinds."

In the spirit of her words, the award requires that the traveling plaque be displayed prominently in a public place in the winner's local area so that others can see the achievements of the winner. Additional donations to the Carolyn Shaw Bell Award are tax-deductible and should be sent directly to the Chair of CSWEP – Joan G. Haworth, Ph.D., Economic Research Services, 4901 Tower Court, Tallahassee, Florida 32303.

For further information, please contact the following ASSA/AEA convention attendees:

Dr. Barbara M. Fraumeni. Chair of the

Carolyn Shaw Bell Award Committee Chief Economist Bureau of Economic Analysis, BE-3 1441 'L' Street NW, Washington, D.C. 20230 (202) 606-9603 in DC (617) 620-9868 cell phone in Atlanta Barbara.Fraumeni@bea.doc.gov

Dr. Joan Haworth, Chair of CSWEP Economic Research Services, Inc. 4901 Tower Court, Tallahassee, FL 32303 (850) 562-1211 (ext. 176) jhaworth@ersnet.com