CSWEP: Awards

CSWEP presents the following awards in order to recognize and celebrate the accomplishments of women in economics.

The Carolyn Shaw Bell Award

The Carolyn Shaw Bell Award (“Bell Award”) is given annually to an individual who has furthered the status of women in the economics profession, through example, achievements, increasing our understanding of how women can advance in the economics profession, or mentoring others.

Learn more

The Elaine Bennett Research Prize

The Elaine Bennett Research Prize is awarded every other year to recognize, support and encourage outstanding contributions by young women in the economics profession. 

Learn more

The Margaret deVries Memorial Fund

Margaret deVries’ dedication to mentoring women in the economics profession is remembered through the Margaret deVries Memorial Fund, set up in 2010 with donations from family and friends and used annually used to pay the registration fee for doctoral students whose papers have been selected for presentation in the CSWEP sponsored sessions at the AEA Annual Meeting.

Learn more