

OLIVIA S. MITCHELL NAMED RECIPIENT OF THE 2007 CAROLYN SHAW BELL AWARD

Olivia S. Mitchell is the 2007 recipient of the Carolyn Shaw Bell Award. This award will be presented at the annual business meeting of the American Economics Association's (AEA) Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession (CSWEP) on Friday, January 4, 2008, from 5:00-6:00 pm in the Cambridge Room of the Hilton New Orleans Riverside Hotel. A reception will follow in the Prince of Wales Room to honor Professor Mitchell. It is not necessary to register for the AEA/ASSA meetings to attend these two events.

Olivia S. Mitchell is the International Foundation of Employee Benefits Plans Professor and Professor of Insurance and Risk Management and Business and Public Policy at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. She is also the Executive Director of the Pension Research Council and the Director of the Boettner Center for Pensions and Retirement Research. In her areas of expertise, these directorships are only a small portion of her leadership roles and she has published extensively in the area of retirement security, often with a focus on women's wellbeing at older ages. She has actively sought to improve the status of women through service to the profession and mentorship of other women. For example, she chaired a Task Force on Women in the Wharton Learning Environment, has been a member of the Executive Committee of the American Economic Association, and a CSWEP Board member. A number of letters from women testified to the impact her mentoring had on their careers. One student said in her dissertation acknowledgement: "I have never benefited from any other people as much as I did from her." Her influence as a mentor has extended beyond her own students; she has given many her attention willingly and with enthusiasm.

The Carolyn Shaw Bell Award was created in January 1998 as part of the 25th Anniversary celebration of the founding of CSWEP. Carolyn Shaw Bell, who was the Katharine Coman Chair Professor Emerita of Wellesley College, was also the first Chair of CSWEP. The Bell award is given annually to an individual who has furthered the status of women in economics profession, through example, achievements, increasing our understanding of how women can advance in the economics profession, and the mentoring of others. Previous winners included Alice Rivlin of the Brookings Institute; Sandra Ohrm Moose of the Boston Consulting Group; Eva Mueller, Professor Emerita of the University of Michigan; Francine Blau of Cornell University; Marianne Ferber, Professor Emerita of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Margaret Garritsen de Vries, retired from the International Monetary Fund; Robin Bartlett of Denison University, Barbara Bergmann, Professor Emerita of the American University and the University of Maryland, Claudia Goldin, the Henry Lee Professor of Economics at Harvard University, and Barbara Fraumeni of the University of Southern Maine.

Carolyn Shaw Bell wrote in the CSWEP's 25th Anniversary Newsletter in fall 1997:

"We need everyday to herald some woman's achievements, to tout a woman's book or painting or scholarly article, to brag about a promotion or prize and to show admiration for the efforts and influence of women, in their professional and technical and social and human endeavors of all kinds."

In the spirit of her words, the award requires that the "master" plaque be displayed prominently in a public place in the winner's local area so that others can see the achievements of the winner.

CSWEP represents women's point of views in the committee work of the AEA, monitors the progress of women within the profession, and makes an annual report to the AEA on the status of women in economics. CSWEP associates are women and men in the diverse area of the profession—in academia, government and business. For further information please visit our website—www.cswep.org