DR. ROBIN L. BARTLETT RECIPIENT OF THE 2003 CAROLYN SHAW BELL AWARD

Dr. Robin L. Bartlett is the 2003 recipient of the Carolyn Shaw Bell Award. This award will be given to Dr. Bartlett at the annual business meeting of the American Economics Association's Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession (CSWEP) on January 3rd, which will be from 4:45-5:45 PM in the Coronado Room of the San Diego Marriott Hotel. A reception will follow in the Warner Center until 7:30 to honor Dr. Bartlett. It is not necessary to register for the AEA/ASSA meetings to attend these two events.

In the words of one of her supporters, "Dr. Bartlett has been instrumental in leading the profession towards incorporating women's concerns, women's pedagogy, and multiple approaches to learning into the teaching of economics." She is an enthusiastic and dedicated mentor and teacher, as exemplified by the many teaching awards and fellowships she has received. Dr. Bartlett has been at Denison University since 1974. She chaired CSWEP from 1996-2000, was a founding member of the International Association for Feminist Economics, and is a longstanding member of the Committee on Economics Education.

The Carolyn Shaw Bell Award was created in January 1998 as part of the 25th Anniversary celebration of the founding of CSWEP. Carolyn Shaw Bell, the Katharine Coman Chair Professor Emerita of Wellesley College, was the first Chair of CSWEP. The Bell award is given annually to an individual who has furthered the status of women in the economics profession, through example, achievements, increasing our understanding of how women can advance in the economics profession, or mentoring of others.

Previous award winners have included Alice Rivlin of the Brookings Institution, Sandra Ohrn Moose of Boston Consulting Group, Eva Mueller, Professor Emerita of the University of Michigan, Francine Blau of Cornell University, Marianne Ferber, Professor Emerita of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champagne, and Margaret Garritsen de Vries, retired from the International Monetary Fund.

Carolyn wrote in the CSWEP 25th Anniversary Newsletter in fall 1997:

"We need every day to herald some woman's achievements, to tout a woman's book or painting or scholarly article, to brag about a promotion or prize and to show admiration for the efforts and influence of women, in their professional and technical and social and human endeavors of all kinds."

In the spirit of her words, the award requires that the "master" plaque be displayed prominently in a public place in the winner's local area so that others can see the achievements of the winner.

CSWEP represents women's points of views in the committee work of the American Economic Association (AEA), monitors the progress of women within the profession, and makes an annual report to the AEA on the status of women in economics. CSWEP associates are women and men in the diverse areas of the profession – in academia, government, and business.

For further information, please contact: Caren Grown, Chair of the Bell Award Committee (email at cgrown@icrw.org, phone at (202) 797-0007, ext. 147) or Francine D. Blau, Chair of CSWEP (email at cswep@cornell.edu, phone at (607) 255-2438. CSWEP's website is www.cswep.org.