Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession

CSWEP is a standing committee of the American Economic Association charged with promoting the careers and monitoring the progress of women economists in academia, government agencies and elsewhere. Learn more about CSWEP.

CSWEP Chair and Board

The CSWEP Chair, Professor Anusha Chari, is currently housed at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.  View the full list of current CSWEP Board Members.

Upcoming News, Events, and Deadlines


Award Winners

Joyce Jacobsen, 2021 Carolyn Shaw Bell Recipient

Dr. Joyce P. Jacobsen, President of Hobart and William Smith Colleges, is the recipient of the 2021 Carolyn Shaw Bell Award. Professor Jacobsen is the first woman to serve as the president of Hobart and William Smith Colleges.  Dr. Jacobsen is an important scholar of labor economics and the economics of gender. Her textbook, The Economics of Gender has become the standard in the field.  In addition to her scholarship, Professor Jacobsen is an award-winning teacher, generous citizen of the profession, an exceptional advisor and mentor, and a respected and skillful academic leader. 

Visit the awards page for the full announcement and the video of Dr. Jacobsen's awards ceremony.


Contact CSWEP

Questions? Contact Rebekah Loftis, CSWEP Committee Coordinator,

Follow CSWEP