

CLAUDIA GOLDIN NAMED THE RECIPIENT OF THE 2005 CAROLYN SHAW BELL AWARD

Claudia Goldin is the 2005 recipient of the Carolyn Shaw Bell Award. This award will be presented at the annual business meeting of the American Economics Association's (AEA) Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession (CSWEP) on Friday, January 6, 2006 from 6:00 to 7:00pm in the Republic B Room at the Sheraton Hotel in Boston. A reception will follow in the Republic A room until 8:30 pm to honor Professor Goldin. It is not necessary to register for the AEA/ASSA meetings to attend these two events.

Claudia Goldin, the Henry Lee Professor of Economics at Harvard University, is an extraordinary scholar. She has taken the tools of quantitative economics to historical data in ways that inform us at the deepest level about a range of current economic issues. Her work on the long-term evolution of female labor force participation, contained in her 1990 Oxford Press book as well as in a number of articles in the top journals, stands as a model in the field of economic history. Her current work on the history of American education promises to have equal impact in that area. Professor Goldin has also served the economics profession through her institutional work. She has been a Vice President of the AEA, a member of the board of CSWEP, the President of the Economic History and served on numerous editorial boards for both general purpose economics journals and more specialized history journals. Perhaps less well known is her extraordinary mentoring. As the first tenured woman in the economics department at both the University of Pennsylvania and Harvard, Professor Goldin has been an inspiration to many other women, readily sharing her own experiences while simultaneously demonstrating the possibilities of success with her own stellar record. The measure of success of her mentoring methods is in the long list of economists she has influenced, both in her own fields and more generally.

The Carolyn Shaw Bell Award was created in January 1998 as part of the 25th Anniversary celebration of the founding of CSWEP. Carolyn Shaw Bell, the Katharine Coman Chair Professor Emerita of Wellesley College, was the first Chair of CSWEP. The Bell award is given annually to an individual who has furthered the status of women in economics profession, through example, achievements, increasing our understanding of how women can advance in the economics profession, and the mentoring of others.

Previous winners included Alice Rivlin of the Brookings Institute; Sandra Ohrm Moose of the Boston Consulting Group; Eva Mueller, Professor Emerita of the University of Michigan; Francine Blau of Cornell University; Marianne Ferber, Professor Emerita of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Margaret Garritsen de Vries, retired from the International Monetary Fund; Robin Bartlett of Denison University and Barbara Bergmann, Professor Emerita of the American University and the University of Maryland.

Carolyn Shaw Bell wrote in the CSWEP's 25th Anniversary Newsletter in fall 1997:

"We need everyday to herald some woman's achievements, to tout a woman's book or painting or scholarly article, to brag about a promotion or prize and to show admiration for the efforts and influence of women, in their professional and technical and social and human endeavors of all kinds."

In the spirit of her words, the award requires that the "master" plaque be displayed prominently in a public place in the winner's local area so that others can see the achievements of the winner.

CSWEP represents women's point of views in the committee work of the AEA, monitors the progress of women within the profession, and makes an annual report to the AEA on the status of women in economics. CSWEP associates are women and men in the diverse area of the profession—in academia, government and business.

For further information please visit our website-www.cswep.org