

Barbara R. Bergmann is the 2004 recipient of the Carolyn Shaw Bell Award. This award will be presented at the annual business meeting of the American Economics Association's Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession (CSWEP) on Friday, January 7, 2005, from 4:45-5:45 PM in the Liberty A Room of the Marriott Hotel. A reception will follow in the Liberty B Room until 7:30 to honor Professor Bergmann. It is not necessary to register for the AEA/ASSA meetings to attend these two events.

Barbara Bergmann, Professor Emerita of Economics at American University and University of Maryland, is a renowned scholar whose work has combined theory, quantitative modeling, and policy analysis on issues such as unemployment, urban development, discrimination, poverty, and women's status. She has mentored senior and junior scholars, and has hastened the progress of women in the economics profession. During her long career, Professor Bergmann has served in many leadership roles in the profession, including as chair of CSWEP, and president of the International Association for Feminist Economics, the Eastern Economics Association, the Society for the Advancement of Socio-Economics, and the American Association of University Professors. Her public service includes terms at the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the Council of Economic Advisors. In the words of one of her nominators, "Barbara fully lives up to your requirements of vision, intellectual curiosity, informed willingness to take risks, and most particularly determination to make the world a better place. Further, she always takes great joy in being able to do what she does."

The Carolyn Shaw Bell Award was created in January 1998 as part of the 25th Anniversary celebration of the founding of CSWEP. Carolyn Shaw Bell, the Katharine Coman Chair Professor Emerita of Wellesley College, was the first Chair of CSWEP. The Bell award is given annually to an individual who has furthered the status of women in the economics profession, through example, achievements, increasing our understanding of how women can advance in the economics profession, or mentoring of others.

Previous award winners have included Alice Rivlin of the Brookings Institution, Sandra Ohrn Moose of Boston Consulting Group, Eva Mueller, Professor Emerita of the University of Michigan, Francine Blau of Cornell University, Marianne Ferber, Professor Emerita of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Margaret Garritsen de Vries, retired from the International Monetary Fund, and Robin Bartlett of Denison University.

Carolyn Shaw Bell wrote in the CSWEP 25th Anniversary Newsletter in fall 1997:

"We need every day to herald some woman's achievements, to tout a woman's book or painting or scholarly article, to brag about a promotion or prize and to show admiration for the efforts and influence of women, in their professional and technical and social and human endeavors of all kinds."

In the spirit of her words, the award requires that the "master" plaque be displayed prominently in a public place in the winner's local area so that others can see the achievements of the winner.

CSWEP represents women's points of views in the committee work of the American Economic Association (AEA), monitors the progress of women within the profession, and makes an annual report to the AEA on the status of women in economics. CSWEP associates are women and men in the diverse areas of the profession – in academia, government, and business.

For further information, please contact: Francine D. Blau, Chair of CSWEP (cswep@cornell.edu) or visit CSWEP's website (www.cswep.org).