CSWEP: Elaine Bennett Research Prize

Established in 1998, the Elaine Bennett Research Prize is awarded every other year to recognize and honor outstanding research in any field of economics by a woman not more than seven years beyond her Ph.D. (adjusted for family responsibilities). The 2022 Elaine Bennett Research Prize will be presented at the CSWEP business meeting at the 2023 AEA meetings on Friday, January, 6, 2023 from 12:30 pm - 2:15 pm CST in the Hilton Riverside Hotel, Jefferson Ballroom.

The prize is made possible by contributions from William Zame and others, in memory of Elaine Bennett, who made significant contributions in economic theory and experimental economics and encouraged the work of young women in all areas of economics.

2022 Call for Nominations: Elaine Bennett Research Prize

2020 Elaine Bennett Research Prize:  Stefanie Stantcheva

Stefanie Stantcheva, 2020 Elaine Bennett Research Prize RecipientStefanie Stantcheva, Professor of Economics at Harvard University, is the recipient of the 2020 Elaine Bennett Research Prize.  Professor Stantcheva is recognized for her remarkable contributions to our understanding of optimal taxation, the relationship between innovation and taxation, and social preferences about redistribution. Using a wide range of methodologies, spanning empirical and theoretical work, Professor Stantcheva has pushed forward the frontier of knowledge about the impact and role of taxation, a fundamental question of public economics. Click here for the full announcement.


Presentation by 2020 Elaine Bennett Research Prize Recipient, Stefanie Stantcheva (Professor of Economics at Harvard University), with introduction by nominators and supporters.


Elaine Bennett Research Prize Recipients