

ANNE CARTER NAMED RECIPIENT OF THE 2008 CAROLYN SHAW BELL AWARD

Anne Bell Carter is the 2008 recipient of the Carolyn Shaw Bell Award. This award will be presented at the annual business meeting of the American Economics Association's (AEA) Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession (CSWEP) on Saturday, January 3, 2009, from 5:00 - 6:00 p.m. in the Golden Gate 4 Room of the Hilton San Francisco Hotel. A reception will follow in the Golden Gate 5 Room to honor Professor Carter and the winner of the 2008 Elaine Bennett Research Prize. It is not necessary to register for the AEA/ASSA meetings to attend these two events.

Anne Carter is Fred C. Hecht Professor Emerita of Economics at Brandeis University. The author of several books and dozens of academic articles, she has made important contributions to the study of input-output analysis and productivity. She is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, of the Econometric Society, and of the Union of Concerned Scientists, a member of the Advisory Board on the Future of Work of the Russell Sage Foundation and of the Corporation of Resources for the Future. She was founding president of the International Input-Output Association. A former dean of the faculty at Brandeis, she has also taught at Harvard University, Brooklyn College, and Smith College. A graduate of Queens College, Professor Carter earned her Ph.D. at Harvard-Radcliffe. Throughout her career as researcher, mentor, and colleague she has, truly, "furthered the status of women in the economics profession," as the Bell award recognizes. Letters from colleagues cite her "devotion to research and teaching in economics... tempered by an equal devotion to family, friends and the arts." They describe her as "brilliant", a "seminal force" in guiding both personal and professional development, "a demanding critic (in matters of research and administration), a voice for keeping ambitious goals for research and other endeavors, an inspiration for clear thinking and writing, and a source of encouragement and support." Her legacy of research, leadership, and collegiality are truly achievements "worthy of great admiration and celebration."

The Carolyn Shaw Bell Award was created in January 1998 as part of the 25th Anniversary celebration of the founding of CSWEP. Carolyn Shaw Bell, who was the Katharine Coman Chair Professor Emerita of Wellesley College, was also the first Chair of CSWEP. The Bell award is given annually to an individual who has furthered the status of women in economics profession, through example, achievements, increasing our understanding of how women can advance in the economics profession, and the mentoring of others.

Previous winners included Alice Rivlin of the Brookings Institute; Sandra Ohrm Moose of the Boston Consulting Group; Eva Mueller, Professor Emerita of the University of Michigan; Francine Blau of Cornell University; Marianne Ferber, Professor Emerita of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Margaret Garritsen de Vries, retired from the International

Monetary Fund; Robin Bartlett of Denison University; Barbara Bergmann, Professor Emerita of the American University and the University of Maryland; Claudia Goldin of Harvard University; Barbara Fraumeni of the University of Southern Maine, and Olivia Mitchell of the University of Pennsylvania.

Carolyn Shaw Bell wrote in the CSWEP's 25th Anniversary Newsletter in fall 1997:

"We need everyday to herald some woman's achievements, to tout a woman's book or painting or scholarly article, to brag about a promotion or prize and to show admiration for the efforts and influence of women, in their professional and technical and social and human endeavors of all kinds."

In the spirit of her words, the award requires that the "master" plaque be displayed prominently in a public place in the winner's local area so that others can see the achievements of the winner.

CSWEP represents women's point of views in the committee work of the AEA, monitors the progress of women within the profession, and makes an annual report to the AEA on the status of women in economics. CSWEP associates are women and men in the diverse area of the profession—in academia, government and business.

For further information, please contact: Barbara M. Fraumeni, Chair of CSWEP at cswep@usm.maine.edu or visit CSWEP's website http://cswep.org/