

ELIZABETH HOFFMAN RECIPIENT OF THE 2010 CAROLYN SHAW BELL AWARD

Elizabeth Hoffman is the 2010 recipient of the Carolyn Shaw Bell Award. This award will be presented at the annual business meeting of the American Economics Association's (AEA) Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession (CSWEP) on Friday, January 7, 2011, from 12:30 - 2 p.m. in the Sheraton Tower Court D Room of the Denver Sheraton Downtown Hotel. A reception will follow in the evening from 6 – 7:30 p.m. in the Sheraton Tower Court B Room in part to honor Professor Hoffman. It is not necessary to register for the AEA/ASSA meetings to attend these two events.

Elizabeth (Betsy) Hoffman is currently Executive Vice President and Provost at Iowa State University. Previously, she was President of the University of Colorado System. She has been an accomplished university administrator, faculty member, and researcher over a career spanning more than 40 years.

She served as provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs at the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC), where she also held concurrent academic appointments as professor of economics, history, political science and psychology, as well as professor in the Institute of Government and Public Affairs.

She joined UIC after serving as dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at Iowa State University. Before moving to Iowa State in 1993, she held academic and administrative positions at the University of Florida, Northwestern University, Purdue University, the University of Wyoming and the University of Arizona.

She is currently on the Boards of Marsico Capital Management, Smith College, the Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy, and the Science Center of Iowa. In 2002, she was nominated by President Bush, and confirmed by the U.S. Senate, to serve as a member of the National Science Board (NSB). In that capacity, she chaired the Education and Human Resources Committee from 2004 until 2008. Her term ended in May, 2008, but she continues to serve as an NSB Consultant.

From 1988 to 1993 she served on the CSWEP Board and was Chair from 1991-1993. She participated in the COFFEE and CEMENT mentoring programs and is currently working with four members of the CEMENT group.

Over her career, she has served on more than 20 boards, including the Board of Directors of Target Corporation and the Space Telescope Institute Council, which oversees the management of the Hubble Space Telescope. She has also served as a formal or informal mentor to many young women and men in economics as well as other fields and professions. She earned a doctorate in

history from the University of Pennsylvania in 1972 and a second doctorate in economics from California Institute of Technology in 1979. She received a bachelor's degree in history from Smith College in 1968 and a master's degree in history from the University of Pennsylvania in 1969.

The Carolyn Shaw Bell Award was created in January 1998 as part of the 25th Anniversary celebration of the founding of CSWEP. Carolyn Shaw Bell, who was the Katharine Coman Chair Professor Emerita of Wellesley College, was also the first Chair of CSWEP. The Bell award is given annually to an individual who has furthered the status of women in economics profession, through example, achievements, increasing our understanding of how women can advance in the economics profession, and the mentoring of others.

Previous winners included Alice M. Rivlin of the Brookings Institute; Sandra Ohrm Moose of the Boston Consulting Group; Eva Mueller, deceased, formerly Professor Emerita of the University of Michigan; Francine Blau of Cornell University; Marianne Ferber, Professor Emerita of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Margaret Garritsen de Vries, deceased, formerly from the International Monetary Fund; Robin L. Bartlett of Denison University; Barbara Bergmann, Professor Emerita of the American University and the University of Maryland; Claudia Goldin of Harvard University; Barbara M. Fraumeni of the University of Southern Maine, and Olivia S. Mitchell of the University of Pennsylvania, Anne P. Carter of Brandeis University, and Elizabeth E. Bailey of the University of Pennsylvania.

Carolyn Shaw Bell wrote in the CSWEP's 25th Anniversary Newsletter in fall 1997:

"We need everyday to herald some woman's achievements, to tout a woman's book or painting or scholarly article, to brag about a promotion or prize and to show admiration for the efforts and influence of women, in their professional and technical and social and human endeavors of all kinds."

In the spirit of her words, the award requires that the "master" plaque be displayed prominently in a public place in the winner's local area so that others can see the achievements of the winner. CSWEP represents women's points of views in the committee work of the American Economic Association (AEA), monitors the progress of women within the profession, and makes an annual report to the AEA on the status of women in economics. CSWEP associates are women and men in diverse professional environments – academia, government and business.

All nominations should include a nomination letter, updated CV and two or more supporting letters, preferably at least one from a mentee.

Inquiries, nominations and donations may be sent to:
Barbara Fraumeni, CSWEP Chair
Muskie School of Public Service
University of Southern Maine
P.O. Box 9300
Wishcamper Center
Portland, ME 04104-9300
cswep@usm.maine.edu

Closing date for nominations for the 2011 prize is September 15, 2011.