

ELIZABETH ELLERY BAILEY NAMED RECIPIENT OF THE 2009 CAROLYN SHAW BELL AWARD

Elizabeth Ellery Bailey is the 2009 recipient of the Carolyn Shaw Bell Award. This award will be presented at the annual business meeting of the American Economics Association's (AEA) Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession (CSWEP) on Sunday, January 3, 2010, from 12:30 - 2:00 p.m. in the M101 room of the Marriott Marquis Atlanta Hotel. A reception in part to honor Professor Bailey will be held in the evening from 6:00 - 7:30 p.m. in the M304 room of the Marriott Marquis. It is not necessary to register for the AEA/ASSA meetings to attend these two events.

Elizabeth E. Bailey is the John C. Hower Professor of Business and Public Policy at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. Her research focusses on economic regulation and deregulation, market structure, and corporate governance. In addition to many journal articles, Bailey is the author of *Economic Theory of Regulatory Constraint*, (D.C. Heath, 1973), *Deregulating the Airlines* with David Graham and Daniel Kaplan, (The MIT Press, 1985), and the editor of *The Political Economy of Privatization and Deregulation* with Janet Rothenberg Pack, (Edward Elgar, 1995).

Dr. Bailey is a graduate of Radcliffe College and the Stevens Institute, and in 1972 she was the first woman to receive a doctorate in economics from Princeton University. She served as dean of Carnegie Mellon University's Graduate School of Industrial Administration from 1983 to 1990.

In 1977, President Jimmy Carter appointed Dr. Bailey as the first female commissioner of the Civil Aeronautics Board, where she played an instrumental role in the deregulation of US airline industry. From 1960-1977 she was at Bell Laboratories, where she began as a computer programmer and became head of the Economics Research Department.

Dr. Bailey was Vice President of the American Economic Association from 1981-1983, the Chair of its Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession in 1980-1982, and was elected President of the Eastern Economics Association in 1998. She was Chair of the National Bureau of Economics Research from 2005-2007 and formerly served as a trustee of Princeton University and as an honorary trustee at the Brookings Institution. She was inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1997.

The Carolyn Shaw Bell Award was created in January 1998 as part of the 25th Anniversary celebration of the founding of CSWEP. Carolyn Shaw Bell, who was the Katharine Coman Chair Professor Emerita of Wellesley College, was also the first Chair of CSWEP. The Bell award is given annually to an individual who has furthered the status of women in economics profession, through example, achievements, increasing our understanding of how women can advance in the economics profession, and the mentoring of others. Previous winners included Anne Carter of Brandeis University Alice Rivlin of the Brookings Institute; Sandra Ohrm Moose of the Boston Consulting Group; Eva Mueller, Professor Emerita of the University of Michigan; Francine Blau of Cornell University; Marianne Ferber, Professor Emerita of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Margaret Garritsen de Vries, retired from the International Monetary Fund; Robin Bartlett of Denison University; Barbara Bergmann, Professor Emerita of the American University and the University of Maryland; Claudia Goldin of Harvard University; Barbara Fraumeni of the University of Southern Maine, and Olivia Mitchell of the University of Pennsylvania.

Carolyn Shaw Bell wrote in the CSWEP's 25th Anniversary Newsletter in fall 1997:

"We need everyday to herald some woman's achievements, to tout a woman's book or painting or scholarly article, to brag about a promotion or prize and to show admiration for the efforts and influence of women, in their professional and technical and social and human endeavors of all kinds."

In the spirit of her words, the award requires that the "master" plaque be displayed prominently in a public place in the winner's local area so that others can see the achievements of the winner.

The Carolyn Shaw Bell Award was created in January 1998 as part of the 25th Anniversary celebration of the founding of CSWEP. Carolyn Shaw Bell, the Katharine Coman Chair Professor Emerita of Wellesley College, was the first Chair of CSWEP. The Carolyn Shaw Bell Award ("Bell Award") is given annually to an individual who has furthered the status of women in the economics profession, through example, achievements, increasing our understanding of how women can advance in the economics profession, or mentoring others. All nominations should include a nomination letter, updated CV and two or more supporting letters, preferably at least one from a mentee.

Inquiries, nominations and donations may be sent to:

Barbara Fraumeni, CSWEP Chair Muskie School of Public Service University of Southern Maine Wishcamper Center P.O. Box 9300 Portland, ME 04104-9300 <u>cswep@usm.maine.edu</u>

The next nomination deadline is September 15, 2010