John Bates Clark Medal

John Bates Clark medal

John Bates Clark medal

The John Bates Clark Medal was awarded biennially from 1947-2009 to that American economist under the age of forty who is judged to have made the most significant contribution to economic thought and knowledge. Since 2010, the Clark Medal has been awarded annually. The Medal winner is announced in April.

Roland Fryer, Recipient of the 2015 Clark medal
for more information, click here

1947 Paul A. Samuelson
1949 Kenneth E. Boulding
1951 Milton Friedman
1953 No Award
1955 James Tobin
1957 Kenneth J. Arrow
1959 Lawrence R. Klein
1961 Robert M. Solow
1963 Hendrik S. Houthakker
1965 Zvi Griliches
1967 Gary S. Becker
1969 Marc Leon Nerlove
1971 Dale W. Jorgenson
1973 Franklin M. Fisher
1975 Daniel McFadden
1977 Martin S. Feldstein
1979 Joseph E. Stiglitz
1981 A. Michael Spence
1983 James J. Heckman
1985 Jerry A. Hausman
1987 Sanford J. Grossman
1989 David M. Kreps
1991 Paul R. Krugman
1993 Lawrence H. Summers
1995 David Card
1997 Kevin M. Murphy
1999 Andrei Shleifer
2001 Matthew Rabin
2003 Steven Levitt
2005 Daron Acemoglu
2007 Susan C. Athey
2009 Emmanuel Saez
2010 Esther Duflo
2011 Jonathan Levin
2012 Amy Finkelstein
2013 Raj Chetty
2014 Matthew Gentzkow
2015 Roland Fryer


Honors and Awards

John Bates Clark Medalists

Distinguished Fellows

Richard T. Ely Lecturers

AEA/AFA Joint Luncheon Speakers

Foreign Honorary Members

Economics Nobel Laureates

Francis A. Walker Medalists

Past AEA Officers

Contact Us