

ERICA M. FIELD RECIPIENT OF THE 2010 ELAINE BENNETT RESEARCH PRIZE

Erica M. Field is the 2010 recipient of the Elaine Bennett Research Prize. This prize will be given to her at the annual business meeting of the American Economics Association's Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession (CSWEP) on Friday, January 7, 2011, from 12:30 – 2:00 p.m. in the Sheraton Tower Court D room of the Sheraton Downtown Denver Hotel. A reception will follow in the evening from 6 – 7:30 p.m. in the Sheraton Tower Court B Room in part to honor Professor Field. It is not necessary to register for the AEA/ASSA meetings to attend these two events.

Professor Field, an Associate Professor of Economics at Harvard University, is a development economist. She has done creative and convincing empirical work on a wide range of issues that affect the prospects for economic growth in developing nations. In carrying out her research, she has examined public policies in many different nations. She has, for example, documented the long-term effects of iodine deficiencies on educational attainment by studying a program of iodine supplement distribution in Tanzania. She has studied the impact of land tenancy reform on labor supply by investigating a program of land entitlements for urban squatters in Peru. Erica has studied household bargaining over family size by analyzing a program of contraceptive distribution in Zambia. She has displayed great facility in working with data sets that span both field and "natural" policy-based experiments, collaborating with a variety of co-authors to study economic behavior across a broad spectrum of institutional settings.

Professor Field received her Ph.D. from Princeton University in 2003. She is a Faculty Research Fellow at the National Bureau of Economic Research, a research affiliate of the Bureau for Research in Economic Analysis of Development, and a member of the Jameel Poverty Action Lab at MIT. She has been a National Fellow at the Hoover Institution, a visitor at the Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton, and a Robert Wood Johnson Post-Doctoral Research Fellow in Health Policy. She received her B.A. in Economics and Latin American Studies from Vassar College. The Elaine Bennett Research Prize was established in 1998 to recognize and honor outstanding research in any field of economics by a woman at the beginning of her career. The prize is given in honor of Elaine Bennett, who mentored many women economists at the start of their careers and made significant contributions to economic theory and experimental economics during her short professional career. The previous winners of this prize are Judith Chevalier of Yale University, Susan Athey of Harvard University, Esther Duflo of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Marianne Bertrand of the University of Chicago, Monika Piazzesi of Stanford University and Amy Finkelstein of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

CSWEP represents women's points of views in the committee work of the American Economic Association (AEA), monitors the progress of women within the profession, and makes an annual report to the AEA on the status of women in economics. CSWEP associates are women and men in the diverse areas of the profession – in academe, government and business.

Nominations:

Nominees should be at the beginning of their career but have demonstrated exemplary research contributions in their field. Nominations should contain the candidate's CV, relevant publications, a letter of nomination and two supporting letters. The letters of the nomination and supporting letters should describe the candidate's research and its significance. Nominations will be judged by a committee appointed by CSWEP.

CSWEP represents women's points of views in the committee work of the American Economic Association (AEA), monitors the progress of women within the profession, and makes an annual report to the AEA on the status of women in economics. CSWEP associates are women and men in diverse professional environments – academia, government and business.

Inquiries, nominations and donations may be sent to:

Barbara Fraumeni, CSWEP Chair Muskie School of Public Service University of Southern Maine Wishcamper Center P.O. Box 9300 Portland, ME 04104-9300 cswep@usm.maine.edu

The next nomination deadline is September 14, 2012