CSWEP: Elaine Bennett Research Prize

The Elaine Bennett Research Prize is awarded every other year to recognize, support and encourage outstanding contributions by young women in the economics profession. The next award will be presented in January 2023.

The prize is made possible by contributions from William Zame and others, in memory of Elaine Bennett, who made significant contributions in economic theory and experimental economics and encouraged the work of young women in all areas of economics.

Stefanie Stantcheva, 2020 Elaine Bennett Research Prize Recipient 

Stefanie Stantcheva, Professor of Economics at Harvard University, is the recipient of the 2020 Elaine Bennett Research Prize. Established in 1998, the Elaine Bennett Research Prize recognizes and honors outstanding research in any field of economics by a woman not more than seven years beyond her Ph.D. (adjusted for family responsibilities). Professor Stantcheva is recognized for her remarkable contributions to our understanding of optimal taxation, the relationship between innovation and taxation, and social preferences about redistribution. Using a wide range of methodologies, spanning empirical and theoretical work, Professor Stantcheva has pushed forward the frontier of knowledge about the impact and role of taxation, a fundamental question of public economics. Click here for the full announcement.

Bennett Prize Recipients