Committee Members

John HaltiwangerJohn C. Haltiwanger, University of Maryland, Chair

John C. Haltiwanger is a Distinguished University Professor in the Department of Economics at the University of Maryland. He received his Ph.D. from the Johns Hopkins University in 1981. After serving on the faculty of UCLA and Johns Hopkins, he joined the faculty at Maryland in 1987. In the late 1990s, he served as Chief Economist of the U.S. Census Bureau. He is a Research Associate of the National Bureau of Economic Research and a Senior Research Fellow at the Center for Economic Studies at the U.S. Census Bureau. He has played a major role in developing and studying U.S. longitudinal firm-level data. Using these data, he has developed new statistical measures and analyzed the determinants of firm-level job creation, job destruction and economic performance. He has explored the implications of these firm dynamics for aggregate U.S. productivity growth and for the U.S. labor market. The statistical and measurement methods he has helped develop to measure and study firm dynamics have been increasingly used by many statistical agencies around the world. His own research increasingly uses the data and measures on firm dynamics from a substantial number of advanced, emerging and transition economies. He has published more than 90 academic articles and numerous books including Job Creation and Destruction (with Steven Davis and Scott Schuh, MIT Press).

Pat BajariPat Bajari, Amazon and University of Washington

Pat Bajari is Chief Economist and Vice President, Amazon Core AI, and Professor of Economics at the University of Washington. He is also a Fellow of the Econometric Society, a Research Associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research, and a member of the Federal Economic Statistics Advisory Committee (FESAC). In his role at Amazon, he, leads a team of approximately 120 software engineers and scientists in machine learning, statistics, operations research, and econometrics.

Eric BryjolffsonEric Brynjolffson, MIT

Erik Brynjolfsson is the Jerry Yang and Akiko Yamazaki Professor and Senior Fellow at the Stanford Institute for Human-Centered AI, and Director of the Stanford Digital Economy Lab. He is the Ralph Landau Senior Fellow at the Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research and holds appointments at the Stanford Graduate School of Business, Stanford Department of Economics and is a Research Associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research. One of the most-cited authors on the economics of information, Brynjolfsson was among the first researchers to measure productivity contributions of IT and the complementary role of organizational capital and other intangibles. He has done pioneering research on digital commerce, the Long Tail, bundling and pricing models, intangible assets and the effects of IT on business strategy, productivity and performance.

Erica L. GroshenErica L. Groshen, Cornell University

Erica L. Groshen is a Visiting Senior Scholar at the ILR School of Cornell University and the Upjohn Institute for Employment Research, and served as the 14th Commissioner of Labor Statistics from January 2013 to January 2017. Prior to joining BLS, Dr. Groshen was a Vice President and economist in the Research and Statistics Group at the Federal Reserve Bank of New York. She has served as a member of the BLS Data Users’ Advisory Committee and of the Census Bureau’s 2010 Census Advisory Committee and Advisory Committee of Professional Associations.

Helen LevyHelen G. Levy, University of Michigan

Helen G. Levy is Associate Director of the Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research, at the University of Michigan, and a Research Professor in the University's Institute for Social Research, its Department of Health Management and Policy, School of Public Health, and the Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy, and a Research Associate with NBER. She is Associate Director of the Health and Retirement Study, a longitudinal panel study that surveys a representative sample to address important questions about the challenges and opportunities of aging. She has served as Senior Economist on the White House Council of Economic Advisers, and as a member of the Federal Economic Statistics Advisory Committee.

Mark MazurMark Mazur

Mark Mazur, after spending four years on the faculty at Carnegie-Mellon University, came to Washington, DC to begin an extended period of public service. Mark started his government career as an economist at the Congressional Joint Committee on Taxation (JCT). After four years at JCT, he became a senior economist at the Council of Economic Advisers and then a senior director at the National Economic Council. He then served as Director of Research, Analysis, and Statistics for the IRS, went on to become the Treasury Department's Deputy Assistant Secretary for Tax Analysis, and was later confirmed as Assistant Secretary for Tax Policy. In addition to his federal service, Mark served as director of the Tax Policy Center, a joint project of the Urban Institute and the Brookings Institution.

Ayşegül ŞahinAyşegül Şahin, University of Texas, Austin

Ayşegül Şahin is the Richard J. Gonzalez Regents Chair in Economics at the University of Texas at Austin and an adviser to the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas. Prior to joining UT Austin’s economics department, she was a research economist at the Federal Reserve Bank of New York for fourteen years, where she primarily focused on the analysis of the U.S. labor market. She is also Research Associate, National Bureau of Economic Research,  a Member of BLS’ Technical Advisory Committee, a Member of CBO’s Panel of Economic Advisers, and a Member of SF Fed’s Advisory Panel. Şahin’s research focuses on the analysis of macro-labor issues such as unemployment and labor force participation dynamics, labor market mismatch, gender disparities in labor market outcomes and entrepreneurship. 

Daniel SichelDaniel E. Sichel, Wellesley College

Daniel E. Sichel, Professor of Economics at Wellesley College and an NBER Research Associate, is known for his contributions to the measurement of technological change, innovation, and intangible capital, and their subsequent influences on productivity and economic growth. Dan spent a number of years in various positions with the Federal Reserve Board, culminating in his serving as Senior Associate Director of the FRB's Division of Research and Statistics. From 1995-96, Dan was the Treasury Department's Deputy Assistant Secretary for Macroeconomics. He is currently Chair of the NSF Committee on National Statistics' Panel on "Improving the Cost-of-Living Indexes and Consumer Inflation Statistics in the Digital Age," and Chair of the U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis Advisory Committee.