• Member Announcement
  • May 8, 2019

AEA Member Announcements: Annual Elections and Other Announcements (May 8, 2019)

To: Members of the American Economic Association
From: Peter L. Rousseau, Secretary-Treasurer
Subject: Annual Elections and Other Announcements

AEA Annual Elections. The Nominating Committee, consisting of Robert Shiller (Chair), Janet Currie, Mark Gertler, Pinelopi Goldberg, John Haltiwanger, Hilary Hoynes, Rachel Kranton, and Sendhil Mullainathan, submitted its nominations for vice presidents and elected members of the Executive Committee on April 26. The Electoral College, consisting of the Nominating Committee and the Executive Committee's voting members together, then selected the nominee for president-elect.

The 2019 slate of candidates for 2020 officers is:

David Card

Vice Presidents
Janice Eberly
Olivia Mitchell
Larry Samuelson
James Stock

Executive Committee Members
Lisa Cook
Matthew Gentzkow
Melissa Kearney
Rohini Pande

Please watch for more information on the candidates. Balloting opens August 1, 2019.

Congratulations to the 2019 John Bates Clark Medalist Emi Nakamura. Awarded annually to an economist under the age of 40, the John Bates Clark Medal recognizes outstanding research accomplishments in economics. Please join the AEA Electoral College, consisting of the Association's Honors and Awards Committee and voting members of the Executive Committee, in congratulating Emi Nakamura of the University of California, Berkeley. To find out more or to see a list of Clark Medal recipients, go to https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/bates-clark.

The 2019 AEA Distinguished Fellows are Oliver Hart, Edward Lazear, Ariel Pakes, and Margaret Slade. The Distinguished Fellow award recognizes the lifetime research contributions of up to four distinguished economists each year. A list of current and past Distinguished Fellows is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/distinguished-fellows.

The Foreign Honorary Member award is given to Hélène Rey of France. International honorees of distinction are elected by the American Economic Association's Executive Committee. A list of current Foreign Honorary Members is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/foreign-honorary-members.

The annual American Economic Journal (AEJ) Best Paper Award highlights the best paper published in each of the American Economic Journals: Applied Economics, Economic Policy, Macroeconomics, and Microeconomics over the last three years. Nominations are provided by AEA members, and winners are selected by the journals' editors, co-editors, and boards of editors. Complimentary full-text articles are available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/aej-best-papers.

AEJ: Applied Economics: "Expertise versus Bias in Evaluation: Evidence from the NIH," by Danielle Li 9(2), (pp. 60-92) April 2017

AEJ: Economic Policy: "Adaptation to Climate Change: Evidence from US Agriculture," by Marshall Burke and Kyle Emerick 8(3), (pp. 106-140) August 2016

AEJ: Macroeconomics: "The Firm Size Distribution across Countries and Skill-Biased Change in Entrepreneurial Technology," by Markus Poschke 10(3), (pp. 1-41) July 2018

AEJ: Microeconomics: "A Pseudo-Market Approach to Allocation with Priorities," by Yinghua He, Antonio Miralles, Marek Pycia, and Jianye Yan 10(3), (pp. 274-314) August 2018

The inaugural issue of AER: Insights is coming in June 2019! Submissions have been continuing to grow in anticipation of the AEA's first new peer-reviewed journal since the four American Economic Journals launched over a decade ago. A list of articles accepted for publication in forthcoming issues of AER: Insights is now available on the AEA website. Visit https://www.aeaweb.org/journals/aeri/forthcoming.

AEA Editor Transition. The AEA Executive Committee is pleased to announce the appointment of Erzo F.P. Luttmer of Dartmouth as the new lead editor for the American Economic Journal: Economic Policy beginning January 2020. We wish to thank outgoing Editor Matthew Shapiro for his outstanding efforts devoted to making the AEJ: Economic Policy journal included among the most respected scholarly journals in economics.

Call for Proposals for potential Host School for the AEA Summer Program (AEASP). Since 1974, the AEA Summer Training Program has increased diversity in the field of economics by preparing talented undergraduates for doctoral programs in economics and related disciplines. AEASP is a prestigious program that enables students to develop and solidify technical skills in preparation for the rigors of graduate studies. For more information on the program, visit https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/committees/aeasp. The AEA Committee on the Status of Minority Groups in the Economics Profession (CSMGEP) is accepting proposals from institutions interested in hosting this important program. If your institution is interested, please review guidelines for proposals at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/committees/aeasp/hosting-applicant-guidelines.

Random Ordering. The AEA now offers an alternative option for ordering coauthor names. Joint papers in which coauthor names are listed randomly will appear with the symbol ⓡ between author names. This alternative—which is voluntary—is intended to address potential bias from listing authors alphabetically, which may favor those whose names appears earlier in the alphabet. Read more here: https://www.aeaweb.org/journals/policies/random-author-order.

Join the conversation at EconSpark! The AEA's economics discussion forum offers economists the opportunity to connect with peers, share relevant experiences, and exchange ideas within a professional environment. Now is the time to bring your distinctive viewpoint to the table at http://www.aeaweb.org/econspark.

Call for Artists. The program cover for the ASSA annual meeting often features artwork by economists or their spouses. Please contact us if you would like to see your artwork on a cover or have suggestions for future covers. Artwork can be provided in any medium that can be photographed. If selected, a color transparency, slide, or photograph (color or black and white) will be required. There is no remuneration other than the honor of having your work recognized. Send suggestions by August 15, 2019 to: gwyn.p.loftis@vanderbilt.edu or ASSA Cover, American Economic Association, 2014 Broadway, Suite 305, Nashville, TN 37203.