JOE Listings (Job Openings for Economists)

August 1, 2020 - January 31, 2021

University of Idaho

This listing is inactive.
Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology
Endowed Chair in Commodity Risk Management

JOE ID Number: 2020-02_111465249
Date Posted: 09/09/2020
Date Inactive: 01/31/2021
Position Title/Short Description
Title: Endowed Chair in Commodity Risk Management
Section: US: Full-Time Academic (Permanent, Tenure Track or Tenured)
Location: Moscow, Idaho, UNITED STATES
JEL Classifications:
C1 -- Econometric and Statistical Methods and Methodology: General
C5 -- Econometric Modeling
D2 -- Production and Organizations
D4 -- Market Structure, Pricing, and Design
D8 -- Information, Knowledge, and Uncertainty
Q1 -- Agriculture
L1 -- Market Structure, Firm Strategy, and Market Performance
Risk Management
commodity markets
supply chain
Salary Range: commensurate with the market, experience and the distinction of an Endowed Chair position
Full Text of JOE Listing:

The University of Idaho Department of Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology (AERS) is seeking an exceptional individual to fill the position of Endowed Chair in Commodity Risk Management to support research, teaching, and outreach in agricultural risk management from “farm to fork”. The position is an academic year tenured appointment at the level of Associate or Full Professor.

The individual filling this position will have a tenure home in AERS and will be an affiliate faculty in the College of Business and Economics (CBE). S/he will provide leadership for the Agricultural Commodity Risk Management program in AERS and the Barker Capital Trading and Management program in CBE. The individual will teach in support of undergraduate and graduate programs. The individual will conduct rigorous research related to risks that arise throughout the agricultural supply chain: including but not limited to risks stemming from factors related to production, environment, price fluctuations, logistics and transportation, variable policies, labor, biosecurity, and food safety. It is expected that the research program will be supported by nationally competitive grants and the research results will be published in high quality journals.

The Endowed Chair will provide important outreach to regional stakeholders, such as commodity groups, agribusinesses, producers, financial institutions, market participants and policy makers. Relative position responsibilities in the areas of teaching, research, outreach and service are negotiable upon hire.

The activities of the Endowed Chair will be supported by proceeds from an endowment established by the Idaho Wheat Commission.

Required qualifications are a Ph.D. in agricultural economics, economics, finance or a related field; strong evidence of an outstanding record of scholarly research in the area of risk management and agricultural or financial markets; and academic record of excellence sufficient to merit appointment at the rank of Associate or Full Professor with tenure. Preferred qualifications include evidence of success at securing nationally competitive grant funding and evidence of excellent communications skills, particularly in communicating research findings to non-academic audiences.

Applications received by November 16, 2020 will receive first consideration.

Application materials should include: 1) a letter addressing your qualifications relative to the required and preferred qualifications for this position; 2) an up-to-date CV; 3) names and contact information for at least 3 references; 4) copy of a research paper pertinent to this Endowed Chair position.

To apply go to:

For questions please contact:
Cathy A. Roheim – Search Chair,; or Christopher McIntosh, Chair AERS,

Application Requirements:
  • External Application Link
  • Letters of Reference Instructions Below
  • Letters of Reference Link
Application deadline: 11/16/2020
Reference Instructions:
Letters of reference may be submitted through the application process.

For questions please contact Cathy A. Roheim - Search Chair
Christopher McIntosh - AERS Department Head