CSWEP Midwest

Midwest Economic Association (MEA) 87th Annual Conference

March 31-April 2, 2023
The Westin Cleveland Downtown
Cleveland, OH 

The 2023 MEA conference will be held in Cleveland, Ohio from March 31 through April 2, 2023. We plan to have two panels discussing advice for job seekers and academic career challenges and opportunities scheduled for Friday, March 31st. See panel schedule below.

We will also host a Networking Luncheon on Friday, March 31 at 12:00 pm EST in the Calypso room of the Westin Cleveland Downtown. MEA annual meeting attendees can sign up now using Eventbrite.

CSWEP PANELS
Friday, March 31, 2023

1:15 – 3:00: Academic Career Challenges and Opportunities
Chair and Organizer: Shahina Amin (University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, Iowa, email: shahina.amin@uni.edu)

Elizabeth Moorhouse (Lycoming College, Williamsport, Pennsylvania, moorhouse@lycoming.edu) How to keep an active research agenda while also having high teaching expectations.

Daniela Puzzello (Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana, dpuzzell@indiana.edu): Publication Process

Francisca Richter (Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio, fxr58@case.edu): Interdisciplinary work and why it is valuable

Andrea Ziegert (Denison University, Granville, Ohio, ziegert@denison.edu): So you have tenure, now what?

3:15 - 5:00 pm: Advice for Job Seekers: Finding the Right “Fit”
Chair and Organizer: Shahina Amin (University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, Iowa, email: shahina.amin@uni.edu)

Meta A. Brown (The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio, brown.991@osu.edu): R1 research institutions in search of new ideas and new voices

Amanda C. Cook (Bowling Green State University, Bowling Green, Ohio, accook@bgsu.edu) Hitting the ground running: tips for starting a tenure track job at a regional university

Zarrina Juraqulova (Denison University, Granville, Ohio, juraqulovaz@denison.edu): Liberal Arts College faculty positions: am I at the right place?

Dominic Smith (Bureau of Labor Statistics, Washington D.C., smith.dominic@bls.gov): Applying for jobs in the public sector

 

In addition to the CSWEP panels the MEA meetings provide a great opportunity to present your own research.  For those interested in presenting a paper, you can find paper submission information on the MEA website, http://mea.grinnell.edu/.

New to CSWEP and you want to learn more? 

Click here:  https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/committees/cswep


Shahina Amin, Midwest Representative
Lawrence Jepson Professor of International Economics

Department of Economics
College of Business Administration
University of Northern Iowa
1227 West 27th Street
Cedar Falls, IA 50614-0129
(319) 273-2637
shahina.amin@uni.edu