CSWEP Midwest

Midwest Economic Association (MEA) 86th Annual Conference

The 2022 MEA conference will be held in Minneapolis, Minnesota, from March 25 to 27, 2022. We plan to have two panels discussing advice for job seekers and academic career challenges and opportunities. We will also host a networking luncheon on Friday, March 25 at 12:00 pm CST in the Lake Superior A room on the 5th floor. MEA Meeting attendees can sign up for this luncheon using this link.  

CSWEP PANELS

Friday, March 25, 2022

10:00 – 11:45:  Advice for Job Seekers
Chair and Organizer: Shahina Amin (University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, Iowa, email: shahina.amin@uni.edu)
Ken Brown (Missouri State University, Springfield, Missouri,  KennethBrown@missouristate.edu): Regional comprehensive universities: What are we looking for?
Amy Damon (Macalester College, St. Paul, Minnesota, email: adamon@macalester.eduLiberal Arts College Jobs: they aren't only about teaching.
Irene Jacqz (Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa, jacqz@iastate.edu): Reflections from a recent job market experience
Abigal Woznaik (Federal Reserve Bank, Minneapolis, Minnesota, abigailwozniak@gmail.com): Finding Fed Employment in under 14 Years

1:15 – 3:00: Academic Career Challenges and Opportunities
Chair and Organizer: Shahina Amin(University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, Iowa, email: shahina.amin@uni.edu)
Stacie Bosley (Hamline University, St. Paul, Minnesota, sbosley@hamline.edu): Developing a productive research agenda at a teaching-centered institution
Karine Moe (Macalester College, St. Paul, Minnesota, moe@macalester.edu): The Benefits of Mentoring and Networking Throughout Your Career
Nicole Simpson (Colgate University, Hamilton, New York, nsimpson@colgate.edu):  Moving the Needle in Attracting a More Diverse Student Population in the Economics Curriculum
Xiaoxia Shi (University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, Wisconsin, xshi@ssc.wisc.edu): How to get your paper published


Shahina Amin, Midwest Representative
Lawrence Jepson Professor of International Economics

Department of Economics
College of Business Administration
University of Northern Iowa
1227 West 27th Street
Cedar Falls, IA 50614-0129
(319) 273-2637
shahina.amin@uni.edu