• Member Announcement
  • April 22, 2022

Annual Elections and other Announcements

April 22, 2022

To: Members of the American Economic Association
From: Peter L. Rousseau, Secretary-Treasurer
Subject: Annual Elections and other Announcements

AEA Annual Elections. The Nominating Committee, consisting of Ben Bernanke (Chair), Mary Amiti, Martha Bailey, Kerwin Charles, Janice Eberly, Donna Ginther, Andrew Jalil, and Steven Raphael submitted its nominations for vice presidents and elected members of the Executive Committee on April 8. The Electoral College, consisting of the Nominating Committee and the Executive Committee's voting members together, then selected the nominee for president-elect.

The 2022 slate of candidates for 2023 officers is:

Janet Currie

Vice Presidents
John Campbell
John Haltiwanger
Hilary Hoynes
Linda Tesar

Executive Committee Members
Sam Allgood
Christopher Carpenter
Kevin Lang
Lisa Lynch

Please watch for more information on the candidates. Balloting opens August 1, 2022.

AEA Editor Transition. The AEA Executive Committee is pleased to announce the appointment of Kirabo Jackson of Northwestern University as the new lead editor for the American Economic Journal: Economic Policy beginning in January 2023. Jackson was appointed after an extensive search that included input from the membership. The Association thanks outgoing Editor Erzo Luttmer for his outstanding efforts devoted to making the journal included among the most respected scholarly journals in economics.

AEA Director for Government Relations. The AEA welcomes Dr. Martha Starr, who was appointed Director of its Committee for Government Relations effective April 1, 2022, following a national search. Dr. Starr has made important economic contributions in the government, academic, and private consulting sectors. She was a Senior Economist with the Federal Reserve Board, a Senior economic advisor to the Deputy Commissioner for Policy, Planning and Legislation at the Food and Drug Administration, and a Professor of Economics at American University for 16 years. A highly accomplished applied economist, she has made extensive use of data from Federal government surveys in her research. Dr. Starr succeeds Dr. Katherine Smith Evans, who has served as Director since 2017. The Association expresses its immense gratitude for the work performed by Dr. Smith Evans during her tenure. For more information about Committee on Government Relations, visit https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/committees/government-relations.

AEA Initiatives for Diversity and Inclusion. The AEA launched several initiatives to support its goal to promote diversity and inclusion in the economics profession. Grants, awards, and other opportunities are available to individuals and departments who take steps to join the AEA in this effort. For more details and information regarding how to apply to any of these initiatives, please visit https://www.aeaweb.org/go/diversity-initiatives.

Listen now to the AEA Podcast! The Research Highlights podcast features interviews with authors of current economics research published in AEA journals. Great for classroom instruction or to gain a fresh perspective on your own work. Visit http://www.aeaweb.org/research/podcasts, or subscribe wherever you listen to podcasts (Spotify, Stitcher, Apple Podcasts, or Google Podcasts.) You can find all Research Highlights from AEA journals at https://www.aeaweb.org/research.