• Announcement
  • September 19, 2022

2023 John Bates Clark Medal Nominations

Dear Colleague:

I am writing to you, in your capacity as department chair, to invite you to submit nominations for the 2023 John Bates Clark Medal. The 2023 Honors and Awards Committee, which I chair, will hold an initial meeting in October. To complete our preparatory work, I will need to have your nominations as soon as possible and in any case before November 1, 2022. Please send your nominations to barbara.h.fiser@vanderbilt.edu.

As you know, the John Bates Clark Medal is now awarded every year to an economist under forty who has made a significant contribution to economics. The AEA website includes a complete list of past winners at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/bates-clark. To be eligible for the Clark Medal, one must be under forty during the entire year in which the award is made. Therefore, nominees in the current round should be restricted to those born on or after January 1, 1984. Please make an effort to check the eligibility of your nominees and to supply me with their birth dates.

A nomination for the Clark Medal is most useful if it is accompanied by a curriculum vitae and a short statement describing the qualifications of the nominee. The citation for the 2022 winner, Oleg Itskhoki, is posted on the American Economic Association website at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/bates-clark/oleg-itskhoki. It indicates the type of information required. In making your nominations, I hope you will give special consideration to your present colleagues and to your department's former students.

Thank you for your help with these important matters. I look forward to receiving your nominations.


 Patrick Kline

Sent by:
Barbara H. Fiser
Director of Finance and Administration
American Economic Association
2014 Broadway, Suite 305
Nashville, TN 37203
Phone: 615-322-3731
Fax: 615-343-7590