• Press Release
  • April 9, 2024

American Economic Association Announces Award Recipients for 2024


Barbara H. Fiser
American Economic Association
Phone: (615) 322-3731
Fax: (615) 343-7590
Email: barbara.h.fiser@Vanderbilt.Edu

NASHVILLE, TN (April 9, 2024) - The American Economic Association (AEA) announces recipients of the John Bates Clark Medal, Distinguished Fellows, Foreign Honorary Members, and the Best Paper Awards of the American Economic Journals. These outstanding achievements will be honored at the AEA Annual Meeting in January 2025.

Awarded annually to an economist under the age of 40, the John Bates Clark Medal recognizes outstanding research accomplishments in economics. The AEA Electoral College, consisting of the Association's Honors and Awards Committee and voting members of the Executive Committee, selects the winner.  A list of Clark Medal recipients is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/bates-clark.

The Distinguished Fellow awards recognize the lifetime research contributions of distinguished economists. Since 1965, past presidents of the AEA are recognized as Distinguished Fellows, and up to four additional individuals may be elected for the award in one calendar year. Distinguished Fellows are selected by the AEA Nominating Committee and voting members of the Executive Committee, sitting together as an electoral college. A list of current and past Distinguished Fellows is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/distinguished-fellows.

The Foreign Honorary Members award is presented to foreign economists of distinction. Honorees are elected by the American Economic Association's Executive Committee upon recommendation from the Honors and Awards Committee. A list of current Foreign Honorary Members is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/foreign-honorary-members.

The annual American Economic Journal (AEJ) Best Paper Awards highlight the best paper published in each of the American Economic Journals: Applied Economics, Economic Policy, Macroeconomics, and Microeconomics over the last three years. Nominations are provided by AEA members, and winners are selected by the journals' editors, co-editors, and boards of editors. A list of current and past AEJ Best Paper Award winners is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/aej-best-papers.

A list of the 2024 spring award winners is provided below. For more information about these awards, the recipients, and biographies of the John Bates Clark Medalist and Distinguished Fellows, visit https://www.AEAweb.org.

The American Economic Association Spring Awards

John Bates Clark Medalist

Philipp Strack, Yale University

Distinguished Fellows

William A. Darity, Jr., Duke University
Bronwyn H. Hall, University of California, Berkeley
John Haltiwanger, University of Maryland
Margaret C. Simms, Urban Institute

Foreign Honorary Members

Michihiro Kandori, University of Tokyo
Jean-Charles Rochet, Toulouse School of Economics
Hyun Song Shin, Bank for International Settlements
Silvana Tenreyro, London School of Economics

American Economic Journal (AEJ) Best Paper Awards 
Complimentary full-text articles are available at the web addresses referenced below.

AEJ: Applied Economics: "Disability and Distress: The Effect of Disability Programs on Financial Outcomes," by Manasi Deshpande, Tal Gross, and Yalun Su 13(2), (pp. 151-78) April 2021

AEJ: Economic Policy: "The Labor Market for Teachers under Different Pay Schemes," by Barbara Biasi 13(3), (pp. 63-102) August 2021 

AEJ: Macroeconomics: "The Transmission of Monetary Policy Shocks," by Silvia Miranda-Agrippino, and Giovanni Ricco 13(3), (pp.74-107) July 2021

AEJ: Microeconomics: "A Reputational Theory of Firm Dynamics," by Board and Meyer-ter-Vehn 14(2), (pp. 44-80) May 2022  

About the American Economic Association

The American Economic Association (AEA) encourages economic research, issues publications on economic subjects, and encourages perfect freedom of economic discussion. With more than 17,000 members, the AEA publishes the American Economic Review (AER)AER: Insights (AERI)Journal of Economic Literature (JEL)Journal of Economic Perspectives (JEP)AEA Papers and Proceedings, and American Economic Journals (AEJ): Applied Economics, Economic Policy, Macroeconomics, and Microeconomics. The AEA is focused on improving the professional climate of economics through its committees, workshops, resources, and more. Information can be found at https://www.AEAweb.org, or by contacting Barbara H. Fiser at barbara.h.fiser@Vanderbilt.Edu.