• Press Release
  • April 27, 2022

American Economic Association Announces Award Recipients for 2022


Barbara H. Fiser
American Economic Association
Phone: (615) 322-3731
Fax: (615) 343-7590
Email: barbara.h.fiser@Vanderbilt.Edu

NASHVILLE, TN (April 27, 2022) - The American Economic Association (AEA) announces recipients of the John Bates Clark Medal, Distinguished Fellows, Foreign Honorary Members, and the Best Paper Awards of the American Economic Journals. These outstanding achievements will be honored at the AEA Annual Meeting in January 2023.

Awarded annually to an economist under the age of 40, the John Bates Clark Medal recognizes outstanding research accomplishments in economics. The AEA Electoral College, consisting of the Association's Honors and Awards Committee and voting members of the Executive Committee, selects the winner.  A list of Clark Medal recipients is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/bates-clark.

The Distinguished Fellow awards recognize the lifetime research contributions of distinguished economists. Since 1965, past presidents of the AEA are recognized as Distinguished Fellows, and up to four additional individuals may be elected for the award in one calendar year. Distinguished Fellows are selected by the AEA Nominating Committee and voting members of the Executive Committee, sitting together as an electoral college. A list of current and past Distinguished Fellows is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/distinguished-fellows.

The Foreign Honorary Members award is presented to foreign economists of distinction. Honorees are elected by the American Economic Association's Executive Committee upon recommendation from the Honors and Awards committee. A list of current Foreign Honorary Members is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/foreign-honorary-members.

The annual American Economic Journal (AEJ) Best Paper Awards highlight the best paper published in each of the American Economic Journals: Applied Economics, Economic Policy, Macroeconomics, and Microeconomics over the last three years. Nominations are provided by AEA members, and winners are selected by the journals' editors, co-editors, and boards of editors. A list of current and past AEJ Best Paper Award winners is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/aej-best-papers.

A list of the 2022 award winners is provided below. For more information about these awards, the recipients, and biographies of the John Bates Clark Medalist and Distinguished Fellows, visit https://www.AEAweb.org.

The American Economic Association Awards Results

John Bates Clark Medalist

Oleg Itskhoki, University of California, Los Angeles

Distinguished Fellows

Sadie T. M. Alexander, Ph.D., J.D., University of Pennsylvania (dec.)
Barry Eichengreen, University of California, Berkeley
James Poterba, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Carmen Reinhart, Harvard Kennedy School

Foreign Honorary Members

Oriana Bandiera, Italy
Luigi Guiso, Italy
Paul Klemperer, United Kingdom
John Van Reenen, United Kingdom

American Economic Journal (AEJ) Best Paper Awards 
Complimentary full-text articles are available at the web addresses referenced below.

AEJ: Applied Economics: "Understanding the Average Impact of Microcredit Expansions: A Bayesian Hierarchical Analysis of Seven Randomized Experiments," by Rachael Meager 11(1), (pp. 57-91) January 2019

AEJ: Economic Policy: "Carbon Taxes and CO2 Emissions: Sweden as a Case Study," by Julius J. Andersson 11(4), (pp. 1-30) November 2019 

AEJ: Macroeconomics: "Higher Taxes at the Top: The Role of Entrepreneurs," by Bettina Brüggemann 13(3), (pp. 1-36) July 2021

AEJ: Microeconomics: "Is No News (Perceived As) Bad News? An Experimental Investigation of Information Disclosure," by Ginger Zhe Jin, Michael Luca, and Daniel Martin 13(2), (pp. 141-73) May 2021  

About the American Economic Association

The American Economic Association (AEA) encourages economic research, issues publications on economic subjects, and encourages perfect freedom of economic discussion. With more than 20,000 members, the Association publishes the American Economic Review (AER)AER: Insights (AERI)Journal of Economic Literature (JEL)Journal of Economic Perspectives (JEP)AEA Papers and Proceedings, and American Economic Journals (AEJ): Applied Economics, Economic Policy, Macroeconomics, and Microeconomics. More information can be found at https://www.AEAweb.org, or by contacting Barbara H. Fiser at barbara.h.fiser@Vanderbilt.Edu.