• Member Announcement
  • April 20, 2021

AEA Member Announcements: American Economic Association Announces Award Recipients for 2021

To: Members of the American Economic Association
From: Peter L. Rousseau, Secretary-Treasurer
Subject:  American Economic Association Announces Award Recipients for 2021

Congratulations to the 2021 John Bates Clark Medalist Isaiah Andrews. Awarded annually to an economist under the age of 40, the John Bates Clark Medal recognizes outstanding research accomplishments in economics. Please join the AEA Electoral College, consisting of the Association's Honors and Awards Committee and voting members of the Executive Committee, in congratulating Isaiah Andrews of Harvard University. To find out more or to see a list of Clark Medal recipients, go to https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/bates-clark.

The 2021 AEA Distinguished Fellows are Alan Auerbach, Rebecca Blank, Anne Case, and Robert Townsend. The Distinguished Fellow award recognizes the lifetime research contributions of four distinguished economists each year. A list of current and past Distinguished Fellows is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/distinguished-fellows.

The Foreign Honorary Members for 2021 are Per Krusell of Sweden, Eliana La Ferrara of Italy, Lucrezia Reichlin of Italy, and Manuel Trajtenberg of Israel. These international honorees of distinction are elected by the American Economic Association's Executive Committee. A list of current Foreign Honorary Members is available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/foreign-honorary-members.

The annual American Economic Journal (AEJ) Best Paper Awards highlight the best paper published in each of the American Economic Journals: Applied Economics, Economic Policy, Macroeconomics, and Microeconomics over the last three years. Nominations are provided by AEA members, and winners are selected by the journals' Boards of Editors. Complimentary full-text articles are available at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/aej-best-papers.

AEJ: Applied Economics: "Social Media and Corruption," by Ruben Enikolopov, Maria Petrova, and Konstantin Sonin, Vol. 10, No. 1, January 2018

AEJ: Economic Policy: "How Antitrust Enforcement Can Spur Innovation: Bell Labs and the 1956 Consent Decree," by Martin Watzinger, Thomas A. Fackler, Markus Nagler, and Monika Schnitzer, Vol. 12, No. 4, November 2020

AEJ: Macroeconomics: "Deconstructing Monetary Policy Surprises—The Role of Information Shocks," by Marek JarociƄski and Peter Karadi, Vol. 12, No. 2, April 2020

AEJ: Microeconomics: "Who Benefits from Information Disclosure? The Case of Retail Gasoline," by Fernando Luco, Vol. 11, No.2, May 2019