• Announcement
  • October 7, 2016

2017 John Bates Clark Medal Nominations

I am writing to you, in your capacity as a Chair of an Economics Department, to invite you to submit nominations for the 2017 John Bates Clark Medal. The 2017 Honors and Awards Committee, which I chair, will hold an initial meeting in January 2017 at the ASSA Winter Meetings. To complete our preparatory work, I will need to have your nominations as soon as possible and in any case before November 18, 2016. Please send your nominations, to regina.montgomery@vanderbilt.edu.

As you know, the John Bates Clark Medal is now awarded every year to an economist under forty who has made a significant contribution to economics. The AEA website includes a complete list of past winners at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/bates-clark. To be eligible for the Clark Medal, one must be under forty during the entire year in which the award is made. Therefore, nominees in the current round should be restricted to those born on or after January 1, 1978. Please make an effort to check the eligibility of your nominees and to supply me with their birth dates.

A nomination for the Clark Medal is most useful if it is accompanied by a curriculum vitae and a short statement describing the qualifications of the nominee. The citation for the 2016 winner, Yuliy Sannikov, is posted on the American Economic Association website at https://www.aeaweb.org/about-aea/honors-awards/bates-clark/yuliy-sannikov. It indicates the type of information required. In making your nominations, I hope you will give special consideration to your present colleagues and to your department's past students.

Thank you for your help with these important matters. I look forward to receiving your nominations.


Joel Sobel


Sent by:
Regina Montgomery, Administrative Director
American Economic Association
2014 Broadway, Suite 305
Nashville, TN 37203
Phone: (615) 322-2595
Fax: (615) 343-7590
Email: regina.montgomery@vanderbilt.edu