CSWEP: Calls and Announcements

Call for Papers, CSWEP Sessions @ 96th Western Economic Association Conference

June 27 – July 1, 2021
Hilton Hawaiian Village
Honolulu, Hawaii

CSWEP will be sponsoring sessions at the 2021 Western Economic Association International (WEAI) conference. The deadline for submissions of session proposals to CSWEP is January 31, 2021.

Several sessions will be organized by Catalina Amuedo-Dorantes (CSWEP Western representative). One or two sessions will be on the broad topic of international migration, immigrants, and immigration policy–especially in relation to COVID-19 and the pandemic. Abstracts on those areas are particularly solicited, but also in other areas for additional separate sessions. Proposals for complete sessions (organizer, chair, presenters and discussants) or round tables on specific topics of interest are highly encouraged. Please email abstracts (1-2 pages, include names of all authors, as well as all their affiliations, addresses, email contacts, paper title) by January 31, 2021, to:

Rebekah Loftis
Committee Coordinator
Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession
American Economic Association

Note that this submission is separate from any submission sent in response to the WEAI’s general call for papers.  For more information on the WEAI meetings, please see https://www.weai.org/conferences/.  CSWEP is unable to provide travel assistance to meeting participants.  Please make other arrangements for covering travel and meeting costs.

(MEA) 85th Annual Conference

CSWEP Panels on Career Development on Friday, March 26, 2021

CSWEP (Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession) is organizing two panels on topics related to career development at the Virtual Midwest Economics Association Meetings to be held from March 22-28, 2021.

The panels will be held on the Friday (March 26) of the conference. One panel will be geared to those looking for jobs (academic and nonacademic) and another panel will focus on mid-career issues.  Each panel will have four participants who will each speak for about 10 minutes.  The sessions are organized to allow for plenty of time for an active exchange of ideas and advice among the panelists and session attendees. 

If you have specific suggestions regarding the topics to be covered or ideas for potential panelists (you can also suggest yourself), please submit your topics and ideas as soon as possible (no later than October 12, 2020) to Shahina Amin, CSWEP Midwest Rep, shahina.amin@uni.edu. To foster the exchange of new ideas, we especially seek individuals who have not previously served as panelists. 

In addition to the CSWEP panels the MEA meetings provide a great opportunity to present your own research.  For those interested in presenting a paper, you can find paper submission information on the MEA website, http://mea.grinnell.edu/.

2021 Summer Economics Fellows Program

The application portal is now open!
Deadline: February 1, 2021

Sponsored by the American Economic Association and originally funded by a National Science Foundation grant, the Summer Economics Fellows Program is designed to increase the participation and advancement of women and underrepresented minorities in economics. Fellows spend a summer in residence at a sponsoring research organization or public agency, such as a statistical agency or a Federal Reserve Bank. Summer economics fellowships are available to senior graduate students and junior faculty.

Fellows are to be chosen by the program with the agreement of the sponsoring institution in line with the goal of advancing the participation of women and underrepresented minorities in the economics profession, the fit of a candidate with the activities of the research group at the sponsoring institution, and the value of the proposed research to advancing the sponsoring institution's own goals.

Applications are due by February 1, 2021. Please follow the below link to the online application.

2021 Summer Economics Fellows Program Application

Sponsors will receive applications by February 15. Sponsors are asked to make initial offers by March 25 and to hold initial offers open until April 2. Final notifications are anticipated by May 1.

For more information, visit our website or, contact Dan Newlon, Coordinator AEA Summer Economics Fellows Program at dan.newlon@aeapubs.org.

CSWEP Call for Liaisons

CSWEP needs you! Help us collect data for the CSWEP Survey and share news of CSWEP opportunities with your professional networks. To serve as a liaison for your department, group or agency, email us today. Click here to view the list of distinguished economists serving in the CSWEP Liaison Network.

Please read the CSWEP Policy Regarding Sessions at the American Economic Association and Regional Association Meeting.