+1 vote
asked ago in General Economics Questions by (260 points)
My university has moved us to online teaching at short notice in the face of the COVID-19 virus. As someone who has no experience teaching online and given that I cannot ask students to buy learning management packages at this stage - some ideas as to how to make the transition to online for upper level Macroeconomics and Public Economics courses? The university is willing to provide support for WebEx and Google Meet. Mainly I am interested in knowing how to make the transition from using the whiteboard for graphs and models to online?

1 Answer

+4 votes
answered ago by (520 points)
selected ago by

Best answer
I had my final  in-person meeting with my Principles of Macro class this morning before moving online next week. Although I have some online teaching experience, I have not taught this course online. I cannot assume that all of my students have easy internet access so I cannot schedule synchronous online classes.  My thoughts so far:

- The remaining class topics happen to be AS/AD, fiscal and monetary policy, and the transfer payment system. I've termed the remainder of the class "Macroeconomics of Pandemic Recession: Analysis and Policy Tools"

- I quickly created a reading packet for my students (handed out today and also posted on Blackboard) with readings from the WSJ, WaPo and Economist on AD changes, predicted impacts on employment and incomes, fiscal policy and monetary policy changes under discussion, and transfer payment system impacts. I told my students we would use the articles as the source of discussion / problem set questions for the next few weeks. (I also included my usual handout on the AD/AS model)