0 votes
asked ago by (120 points)
Hello, all.

My name is Dan, and my end goal is to pursue a PhD in Economics (with a focus on micro/welfare econ), but I still have a long ways to go, so I wanted to get feedback from those knowledgeable in the field to help me work smarter instead of just harder.

As Briefly As Possible:

My Goal(s) (“Point B”):
B1. Get a PhD in economics with a focus on micro / welfare economics.
B2. Willing to spend a significant amount of time and money necessary to get there while understanding I don’t have unlimited amounts of either.

Where I Am Now (“Point A”):
A1. Currently living in Philadelphia area. (Originally from the Midwest.)
A2. Have a Bachelor’s in English from 8 years ago.
A3. Have a cumulative GPA just shy of 3.5 (got mono during the last finals of my undergrad).
A4. Not independently wealthy (basically lower-middle class).
A5. No formal education in calculus, economics, statistics, or probability classes: what I know is self-taught.

What I Think I Need:
N1. Make acquaintance with academics who could among other things write me good letters of recommendation (because of A2).
N2. Raise my GPA (because of A3).
N3. Access to financial aid or loans to help finance whatever classes I need to take before I apply to grad school. (Because of A4)
N4. Ability to actually enroll in whatever training or classes I need (in doubt mainly because of A3 and A5; also affected by A1 and A4)
N5. To fill in the spots in my knowledge and advance my training. (because of A5)
N6. To properly display my current and acquired abilities and to impress admissions people (also because of A5)
N7. To be able to keep up with my mandatory expenditures while in school (because of A4).

Options At My Disposal (in whatever combination):