The American Economic Association 2022 Award Recipients

John Bates Clark Medal



Oleg Itskhoki University of California, Los Angeles

One of the most prestigious and eagerly anticipated AEA awards, the **John Bates Clark Medal** is awarded annually each April (formerly biennially from 1947–2009) to that American economist under the age of forty who is judged to have made the most significant contribution to economic thought and knowledge.

Distinguished Fellows

The **Distinguished Fellow** award recognizes the lifetime research contributions of outstanding economists. Since 1965, past presidents of the AEA are recognized as Distinguished Fellows, and up to four additional individuals may be elected for the award in one calendar year.



Sadie T. M. Alexander (1898–1989) Ph.D., J.D., University of Pennsylvania



Barry Eichengreen University of California, Berkeley



James Poterba Massachusetts Institute of Technology



Carmen Reinhart Harvard Kennedy School

Foreign Honorary Members

The **Foreign Honorary Members** award is presented to economists of distinction. Honorees are selected by the AEA Executive Committee based upon the recommendations from the Honors and Awards Committee.



Oriana Bandiera Italy



Luigi Guiso Italy



Paul Klemperer United Kingdom



John Van Reenen United Kingdom



www.aeaweb.org/go/awards