Francis A. Walker Medal

The Walker Medal, named after the Association's first president, Francis Amasa Walker, was instituted in 1947 by the American Economic Association and was awarded every five years "to the living American economist who in the judgement of the awarding body has during his career made the greatest contribution to economics." Upon the creation of the Nobel Memorial Prize, the Walker Medal was discontinued.

Walker Medal Awards









Honors and Awards

John Bates Clark Medalists

Distinguished Fellows

Richard T. Ely Lecturers

AEA/AFA Joint Luncheon Speakers

Foreign Honorary Members

Economics Nobel Laureates

Francis A. Walker Medalists

Past AEA Officers

Contact Us