0 votes
asked ago in Job Market - Candidate Questions by (120 points)
edited ago by

3 Answers

0 votes
answered ago by (3.3k points)
(1) what type of PhD does this some one have? and what type of PhD does someone want to apply to? (this also qualifies the 18 pubs; in some disciplines this is a lot, in others it is only a few.)

(2) what is someone's long term goals?

If working in gov't or industry is included in any or all goals then regardless to the answer in #1, I would reply NO!

But if someone has a PhD in discipline X and wants to make a uturn to do academic work in discipline Y, and the overlap/mutual ground between X and Y are minimal, then sure maybe. (this could be even a better idea if it is easier to find a job in Y.)
commented ago by (120 points)
Thank you so much for your reply. I have a PhD in Economics from my home country. Planning to do another PhD in economics from a good school in the US.
Not able to decide.
I want to work in academics.
+2 votes
answered ago by (3.5k points)
18 good publications in economics is more than most people have in their lifetime. You should have no trouble getting a tenured job in academia. Which makes one suspect that there is more to the story than you have told us.
edited ago by
Thanks Ben, I think that some of the points make sense.
What about post doc? will that help me? looking for opportunities..
Trying to get in connection with Econ Profs here.
commented ago by (3.3k points)
You have 18 publications at age 26 2 years after getting your Ph.D?

One of three things.  

1.  You're trolling.  

2.  You'll have no problem getting a visiting position.

3.  You're ranking A, B, C journals is very different than mine and a fair share of your pubs are in predatory journals.