+8 votes
asked ago in General Economics Questions by (270 points)
I'm trying to interest my college-aged nephew in economics as a career; aside from recommending he listen to podcasts from Freakonomics and Malcolm Gladwell, what authors would you recommend?
commented ago by (1.6k points)
When people ask me to recommend just one book on economics they should read, I suggest "Reinventing the Bazaar" by John McMillan (WW Norton, 2002). Reactions have been very positive. I have not tried it on college-age students, but it may also work for them.

17 Answers

+8 votes
answered ago by (710 points)
selected ago by

Best answer
Some of Michael Lewis' books, even though they're a bit more finance that straight up econ, would be nice -- they're really fun to read. If he's interested in the Big Questions, Acemoglu & Robinson (Why Nations Fail) is great, & Jared Diamond is a good read too. I am an economist in no small part because I read David Landes (The Wealth and Poverty of Nations) as a freshman, much as that book has not stood the test of time.   Niall Ferguson's documentary series, The Ascent of Money, was also well made and fun, & I'm pretty sure you can stream it online (legally).

I've also heard The Undercover Economist talked about as a good book for beginners.
+1 vote
answered ago by (160 points)
Here are some suggestions:

Why ‘simple economics’ is often wrong, and other book recommendations for the econ lover in your life https://www.minnpost.com/macro-micro-minnesota/2017/11/why-simple-economics-often-wrong-and-other-book-recommendations-econ-l/

Forget ‘Freakonomics.’ Three (plus) books for the econ buff on your list https://www.minnpost.com/macro-micro-minnesota/2014/12/forget-freakonomics-three-plus-books-econ-buff-your-list/

Good luck to you!
+1 vote
answered ago by (730 points)
The book Poor Economics is also a great access
+4 votes
answered ago by (330 points)