+5 votes
asked ago in General Economics Questions by (270 points)
I'm an Economics graduate that's worked in non-related fields for the last decade. Now I've been offered the opportunity to work as an economist for the State Government.

Despite my education, I honestly have no idea what a working economist does on a day-to-day basis. Is the day spent collecting data, building linear regression models, and summarising the outcomes (be it descriptive or predictive)?

Can those that work as economists please help shed some light on this for me?

3 Answers

+5 votes
answered ago by (600 points)
selected ago by

Best answer
It depends. There are roughly 4 types of economists that I have seen in my 20 year career.

1. De facto economists. These are people who are called economists because that is their job title. They might know a bit of Excel and a bit of Freakanomics. They usually have an undergrad in economics (though often not) and some have masters level education ( more important as the market for economists heats up). They mostly make graphs, tell what these graphs say, and use an amateur level of common sense in their work. I have seen them in alot of government agencies, engineering firms, international organizations, think tanks and especially banks. Development organizations also "make" them (and they mix economics words and concepts with generalities and jargon unique to their industry. Many work for the media (and write articles, blog, podcast and so forth. They make up the vast share of the "profession" (in quotes because PhD economists would not consider them as peers.