–1 vote
asked ago in General Economics Questions by (300 points)
edited ago by
I recently came up with an idea of modeling the distribution of asset returns from the price of options using a maximum entropy approach.  (It should be noted that I'm not really in finance so my grasp of the literature is not good).  Turns out someone more than 20 years ago beat me to that idea.  It's here: https://www.jstor.org/stable/2331391?seq=1#metadata_info_tab_contents and apparently people have been adding on to it for years.  

It doesn't bother me that much that it's been done way before I was thinking about econ, but that it doesn't seem like there is that much empirical work done using this approach.  Maybe I'm wrong, but most of the work seems theoretical.  I talked to a professor of finance (I'm a PhD student), and he wasn't even aware of this line of work, suggesting state of the art was deriving moments from a Black-Scholes equation.  At least if I am not mistaken, this is a 100000x better approach for modeling the distribution of future returns of assets given constraints (i.e. that the expected value of the option equals the price adjusted for time value of money).  The reasoning is that you don't have to assume a normal distribution, in fact, the method can, I think, approximate any distribution given enough constraints.   Second, it also approximates the expected return and doesn't just treat that as an exogenous variable which would be the case if you use a Black-Scholes approach.