+1 vote
asked ago in General Economics Questions by (200 points)
Hello all, I am currently an undergraduate pursuing a B.S. in economics. I’m in the second half of my third year and with graduation on the horizon I wanted to ask if there was anything you’d recommend to someone like me. I have found a passion for this subject that is honestly unrivaled in my life, and I want to make the best of every moment I have while I’m still a student.

I’m not exactly sure where it is I’m heading right now, i.e. careers, further education, etc, however I don’t really care, as long as it is in this field I’m sure I will be happy.

I’m sure this post must seem very vague, but in honesty the future is a little vague at this point so what is one to do.

Thank you so much, any words of wisdom or insight would be greatly appreciated, I look forward to hearing from you.

4 Answers

+1 vote
answered ago by (970 points)
selected ago by

Best answer
I've posted some advice about pursuing a PhD in economics here:
https://sites.google.com/site/wdcraighead/grad-school-advice

Of course, there are many alternatives that might be fulfilling to you - e.g., working in a job related to public policy - that are less costly than an economics PhD.  Fundamentally, the decision to go to graduate school is about deciding what type of career you want to have, so I'd recommend doing some soul-searching on that first.  Good luck!
commented ago by (200 points)
Thank you so much. I cannot express my appreciation for the sheer amount (and honesty) of the information you have provided. I have been trying to learn as much as I can about possible career paths and further education in the past few weeks. It’s been kind of overwhelming, but this was very reassuring. I’ll definitely pass this along to a few of my fellow undergrads.
+1 vote
answered ago by (260 points)