2011 Report from the AEA Committee on Economic Statistics (AEAStat)

Membership during 2011: Robert Feenstra, University of California, Davis, Co-chair; Alan Krueger, Princeton University, Co-chair (until fall 2011); Dennis Fixler, Bureau of Economic Analysis; Barbara Fraumeni, University of Southern Maine; David S. Johnson, Census Bureau; Jonathan A. Parker, Northwestern University; Charles Schultze, Brookings Institution; Mark Bils, University of Rochester; Randall Kroszner, University of Chicago

The AEAStat committee met at irregular intervals during 2011 using conference calls, to conduct business as needed. In spring 2011 the major business was to select the sessions and papers for the 2012 ASSA meetings, where the AEAStat committee sponsored three sessions. The three selected sessions were as follows (with complete details available in the 2012 ASSA agenda):

Session 1: Measuring and Explaining the Collapse of the Labor Market in the Great Recession, For publication in the *AER*, *Proceedings*, May 2012 Organizer: John M. Abowd, Cornell University Chair: John Haltiwanger, University of Maryland,

Session 2: Correct Measurement of International Financial and Trade Flows Organizer and Chair: Sebnem Kalemli-Ozcan, University of Houston

Session 3: Measurement Issues in Finance and Productivity Organizer: AEA committee on economic statistics, from individual submissions Chair: Randall S. Kroszner, University of Chicago

Other items of business during 2011 included communication between the AEAStat committee and the AEA Committee on Government Relations, which requested our advice and possible endorsement on several statements.

Several members concluded their terms on the committee at the end of the year: Alan Krueger (due to his appointment to the Council of Economic Advisors in fall 2011); Jonathan Parker (completing his first term); Barbara Fraumeni and Charles Schultze (completing their second terms). Recommendations for re-appointment or new appointments have been forwarded to the Executive Committee of the AEA.

Respectively submitted by Robert Feenstra, December 19, 2011