

Celebrating More than 130 Years of Encouraging Economic Research

December 2021

Dear Journalist Friends:

Welcome to the annual meetings of the American Economic Association (AEA). This gathering has always attracted interest from economics and business journalists, and this year's "virtual" program includes many newsworthy panels and papers as well.

Please check the ASSA <u>program</u> to review more than 500 scheduled sessions and events. There you will be able to search by title (session or paper), last name, or *Journal of Economic Literature* classification code to locate events of interest. An all-in-one ASSA <u>mobile app</u> tool allows you to build a schedule, locate participants, take session notes, and more. A conference registration ID and password is required.

Additionally, I have provided some key highlights for your consideration:

AEA Distinguished Lecture (formerly Ely Lecture): Friday, January 7 at 6:00pm-7:00pm (EST)

This year's lecturer, **Nathan F. Nunn** (**Harvard University**), is presenting "On the Dynamics of Development: The Past, Present, and Future of Culture, Cooperation, and Conflict." Presiding: **Christina D. Romer** (**University of California-Berkeley**)

AEA Presidential Address: Saturday, January 8 at 6:00pm-8:00pm (EST) immediately following the awards ceremony.

David F. Card (University of California-Berkeley), is presenting "Who Set Your Wage?" Presiding: Christina D. Romer (University of California-Berkeley)

AEA Awards Ceremony: Saturday, January 8 at 6:00pm (EST):

The star attraction is the presentation of the John Bates Clark Medal, awarded annually to the person under 40 who has made the most significant contribution to economics research. This year's winner is Isaiah Andrews (Harvard University). The AEA will also recognize four Distinguished Fellows for 2021: Alan Auerbach, Rebecca Blank, Anne Case, and Robert Townsend, as well as other award winners throughout the profession. Presiding: Christina D. Romer (University of California-Berkeley)

AEA Nobel Laureate Address: Saturday, January 8 at 2:30pm-3:30pm (EST):

The address honors the 2020 Nobel Laureates in Economics: Paul R. Milgrom (Stanford University) and Robert B. Wilson (Stanford University).

Christina D. Romer (University of California-Berkeley) will preside. Susan Athey, Srihari Govindan, Bengt Holmstrom, and Alvin Roth will make remarks.

There is also a full lineup of speeches and panel discussions on current economic events, including:

Friday, January 7:

10:00am-12:00pm (EST) "U. S. Monetary Policy for 2022" Moderator: David H. Romer (University of California-Berkeley). Panelists: Mary C. Daly, Janice C. Eberly, Kristin J. Forbes, and R. Glenn Hubbard 12:15pm-2:15pm (EST)

"U.S. Climate Policy: What Is Needed to Reach the Paris Goals?"

Moderator: Catherine Rampell (Washington Post). Panelists: Heather Boushey, Meredith Fowlie, Nathaniel Keohane, and James H. Stock

3:45pm-5:45pm (EST) "U.S. Inflation: Outlook and Policy Response" Moderator: Joshua K. Hausman (University of Michigan). Panelists: Joseph E. Gagnon, Gita Gopinath, Narayana Kocherlakota, and Jon Steinsson

Saturday, January 8:

10:00am-12:00pm (EST) "Wealth" Chair: Stefanie Stantcheva (Harvard University). Discussants: Kerwin Charles, Erik Hurst, Juliana Londoño-Vélez, and David Seim

12:15pm-2:15pm (EST) "Equity and Efficiency in Unemployment Insurance" Chair: Michael W. Horrigan (W.E. Upjohn Institute for Employment Research). Discussants: Patricia Anderson and Julie Whittaker

3:45pm-5:45pm (EST) "Residential and K-12 School Segregation and Educational Inequality" Chair: Josh Angrist (Massachusetts Institute of Technology). Discussants: Peter Q. Blair, Thomas Kane, and Jack Mountjoy

I hope you enjoy the meetings and welcome your feedback. Please visit the <u>ASSA registration</u> pages on our website for additional information, or follow us on Twitter <u>@ASSAMeeting</u> to receive program updates and other developments before and during the meeting.

You can find additional information about American Economic Association programs and activities on the <u>AEA Fact Sheet</u>, the <u>AEA Spotlight document</u>, or on the <u>AEA Brochures</u> page at the <u>AEA website</u>.

Peter L. Rousseau Secretary-Treasurer