NEACODE Black Economists List M-Z

The NEACODE is a historical listing of Black economists.  Please contact Professor Gregory Price at for questions and suggestions.


Last Name Full Name Year Hired College/
Alma Mater
Mason Patrick L. Mason 1991 Florida State New School University
Mbaku John M. Mbaku 1985 Weber State University of Georgia
McDonald Vincent R. McDonald 1968 Howard University University of Maryland
McDowell Donald R. McDowell 1985 North Carolina A&T Illinois
McElroy Susan W. McElroy 1996 University of Texas-Dallas Stanford
McLean Roy McLean 1995 Central Arkansas South Carolina
Mickens Alvin D. Mickens 1972 SUNY Old Westbury New York University
Mincy Ronald Mincy 1987 Columbia University MIT
Modeste Nelson C. Modeste 1976 Tennessee State University of Florida
Moite Leonard Moite 1984 California State - Dominguez Hills UCLA
Montgomery Edward Montgomery 1982 University of Maryland Harvard
Morant Tamah C. Morant 2005 North Carolina State North Carolina
Morvey Daniel A. 1994 Piedmont Technical College (Greenwood, SC) Clemson
Muhammad Washington Andrew Muhammad/Washington 2000 Mississippi State University Florida
Myers Jr. Samuel L. Myers Jr. 1976 University of Minnesota MIT
Naytep-Coo Akorlie Naytep-Coo 1989 UW-La Crosse Northern Illinois
Ndikumana Leonce Ndikumana 1996 University of Massachussetts Washington University
Nembhard Jessica G. Nembhard 1992 Maryland Massachusetts
Ngoboka Pascal Ngoboka 1987 UW River Falls UW Milwaukee
Nichols Donald Nichols 2004 Washington University Stanford
Nit Kofi O. Nti 1977 University of Ghana Yale University
Nnadozie Emmanuel Nnadozie 1987 Truman State University Sorbonne (Foreign)
N'Sonde Regis N'Sonde 1999 Northeastern Northeastern
Nyamwange Richard Nyamwange 1991 East Stroudsburg Fordham
Nyarko Yaw Nyarko 1986 New York University Cornell
Nyomba Ajamu Nyomba 1991 Clark-Atlanta University University of Texas
Nziramasanga Mudziviri T. Nziramasanga 1974 Washington State Stanford
Oguledo Victor I. Oguledo 1989 Florida A&M Nebraska
Ojemakinde Abiodun Ojemakinde 1989 Albany State University Louisiana State
Okediji Tade Okediji 1996 Minnesota Oklahoma
Okpala Amon O. Okpala 1984 Fayetteville State University Louisiana State
Okunade Albert Okunade 1986 University of Memphis Arkansas
Olowolayemo Suryudeen Olowolayemo 1993 Tuskegee University Auburn
Onochie Joseph Onochie 1993 CUNY-Baruch  University of  New Orleans
Osborne Alfred E. Osborne Jr. 1974 UCLA Stanford
Osili Una O. Osili 1999 IUPUI Northwestern
Otoo Maria Otoo 1989 Federal Reserve Board of Governors Georgetown
Palmer Ransford Palmer 1966 Howard University Clark University
Parks Alfred Parks 1973 University of Illinois Prairie View A&M
Patterson Seymour Patterson 1980 Truman State University Oklahoma
Peoples James Peoples 1984 UW Milwaukee UC Berkeley
Poyer David Poyer 1990 Morehouse College SUNY-Buffalo
Price Gregory N. Price 1993 Jackson State University UW Milwaukee
Raynold  Prosper Raynold 1989 Miami (Ohio) Louisiana State
Reaves Natalie Reaves 1995 Rowan University Wayne State
Reid Clifford E. Reid 1973 Colby College Princeton
Rich Lauren M. Rich 1993 University of Chicago (Chapin Hall Ctr for Children) Michigan
Richburg-Hayes Lashawn Richburg-Hayes 2000 Rutgers- New Brunswick Princeton
Rodgers William Rodgers 1993 Rutgers Harvard
Ross Glenwood Ross 1998 Morehouse College Georgia State
Rouse Cecilia E. Rouse 1992 Princeton Harvard
Sarki Ayuba J. Sarki 1984 Hampton University Georgia
Saunders Lisa Saunders 1987 University of Massachussetts UC Berkeley
Scott Bernice deGannes Scott 1989 Spelman College Howard
Sharpe Rhonda V. Sharpe 1998 University of Vermont Claremont
Sheftall Willis Sheftall 1986 Morehouse College Georgia State
Sherer George H. Sherer 1998 University of Dayton Columbia
Simmons Michael Simmons 1979 North Carolina A&T Washington State
Simmons Walter O. Simmons 1994 John Carroll Wayne State
Sinclair Robert D. Sinclair 1999 Syracuse Stanford
Singleton Robert Singleton 1983 Loyola Marymount UCLA
Smith Rodney Smith 1992 Minnesota Maryland
Spriggs Wiiliam E. Spriggs 1984 Howard University Wisconsin
Stephens Melvin Stephens 1998 Carnegie Mellon University Michigan
Stewart James B. Stewart 1976 Penn State Notre Dame
Stoll Michael Stoll 1995 UCLA MIT
Suliman Osman Suliman 1984 Millersville University Indiana
Tackie Nii O. Tackie 1997 Tuskegee University Auburn
Tadesse Bedassa A. Tadesse 2003 University of Minnesota-Duluth Western Michigan
Tauheed Linwoo F. Tauheed 2005 University of Missouri-Kansas City University of Missouri-Kansas City
Terrell Sharon L. Terrell 1993 University of the District of Columbia Notre Dame
Terry Long Bridget Terry Long 2000 Harvard University Harvard
Thomas Louis A. Thomas 1992 University of Pennsylvania Harvard
Thomas Robert E. Thomas 1989 Florida Stanford
Tomlin Kasaundra M. Tomlin 1998 Oakland University Oregon
Tribble Romie Tribble 1985 Spelman College Colorado State
Turner Mark D. Turner 1996 Johns Hopkins Maryland
Ukpolo Victor Ukpolo 1985 California State- Los Angeles American University
Upchurch Leo Upchurch 1985 Tuskegee University Michigan   
Usip Ebenge Usip 1984 Youngstown State University Connecticut
Verdier Genevieve Verdier 2004 Texas A&M University of British Columbia
Wallace Geoffrey L. Wallace 2000 University of Wisconsin Northwestern
Wangari Esther Wangari 1990 Towson State New School University
Wantchekon Leonard Wantchekon 1995 New York University Northwestern
Warner Geoffrey Warner 1994 IUPUI CUNY
Washington Ebonya Washington 2003 Yale University MIT
Wells Robin E. Wells 1990 MIT UC Berkeley
Whatley Warren C. Whatley 1982 University of Michigan Stanford
White-Means Shelley White-Means 1983 University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center Northwestern
Whittaker Victor A. Whittaker 1971 Morgan State Illinois
Williams Darrell L. Williams 1991 UCLA Washington University
Williams Martin Williams 1976 Northern Illinois SUNY Binghamton
Williams Rhonda M. Williams 1983 University of Maryland MIT
Williams Roger C. Williams 1983 Morehouse College SUNY Stony Brook
Williams Russell E. Williams 2004 Wheaton College (Massachusetts Massachusetts
Williams Walter E. Williams 1972 George Mason University UCLA
Wilson  Lucas B. Wilson  1995 Mount Holyoke Umass
Yeboah Anthony Yeboah 1981 North Carolina A&T Iowa State University
Yigletu Ashagre Yigletu 1972 Southern University Belgrade (Foreign)
Yiheyis Zelealem Yiheyis 1993 Clark-Atlanta University Manitoba (Foreign)
Yongo-Bure Benaiah Yongo-Bure 1984 Kettering University Dalhousie University (Canada)
Zegeye Abera Zegeye 1977 Ball State Indiana
Zein-Elabin Eiman Zein-Elabin 1993 Franklin and Marshall Tennessee
Ziorklui Sam Q. Zorklui 1986 Howard University Howard University


Committee on the Status of Minority Groups in the Economics Profession


CSMGEP Programs


Newsletter & Resources

New Wiki: Diversifying Economic Quality



Committee Members

Annual Reports

Committee History

Minority Job Market Candidates

Rhonda Williams Prize

CSMGEP Profiles:

Refugio (Will) Rochin-Rodriguez, University of California
Refugio Rochin-Rodriguez

Professor Emeritus of Chicana/o Studies and Agricultural Economics at the University of California

"Cultivating Social and Economic Development" - Profile

Previous Profiles

Bernard E. Anderson
Seth B. Carpenter
Larry Chavis
Cecilia A. Conrad
Lisa D. Cook
Sheldon Danziger
William A. Darity
Caroline Hoxby
Philip N. Jefferson
Mark Hugo Lopez
Marie T. Mora
Samuel L. Myers, Jr.
Ronald Oaxaca
Lashawn Richburg-Hayes
Cecilia Elena Rouse
Margaret C. Simms
William Spriggs
Steve Trejo


Contact Us