AEA Committees & Representatives

Advisory Committee on Editorial Appointments
Audit Committee
Budget and Finance Committee
Committee for Oversight of Operations and Publishing
Committee on Economic Education
Committee on Economic Statistics
Committee on Government Relations
Committee on Honors and Awards
Committee on the Status of Minority Groups in the Economics Profession
Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession
Nominating Committee 2014
Oversight Committee for Registry of Random Controlled Trial
Ad Hoc Committee on Job Market Systems Design and Implementation
Additional Representatives and Delegates

Advisory Committee on Editorial Appointments

Rosa Matzkin, Chair
Amy Finkelstein
Guido W. Imbens
Michael Woodford

Audit Committee

Anil Kashyap, Chair
Dora L. Costa
Jonathan Levin

Budget and Finance Committee

Peter L. Rousseau, Chair, ex officio
Dora L. Costa
Anil Kashyap
Jonathan Levin
William Nordhaus
Richard Thaler

Committee for Oversight of Operations and Publishing

Dennis Epple, Chair
Claudia Goldin
Andrew Postlewaite
Michael Ransom
Nancy Rose
Peter L. Rousseau
Jesse Shapiro
Christopher Sims

Committee on Economic Education

Sam Allgood, Chair
Doug Bernheim
William Bosshardt,
Steve Cobb
Tisha Emerson
Gail Hoyt
Brigitte Madrian
Derek Neal
Georg Schaur
William Walstad, ex officio

Committee on Economic Statistics

Robert Moffitt, Chair
John Abowd
Ana Aizcorbe
Susanto Basu
Mark Bils
John Haltiwanger
Michael Horrigan
Randall Kroszner
Michael Palumbo
Jonathan Parker

Committee on Government Relations

Jonathan Skinner, Chair
Katherine Baicker
Maureen Cropper
Mark G. Duggan
Dana Goldman
Maurine Haver
Susan Houseman
Anne Krueger
David Laibson
Charles Plott
Phillip Swagel
John B. Taylor

Committee on Honors and Awards

Alan Auerbach, Chair
Andrew Abel
Susan Athey
Judith Chevalier
Henry Farber
David Laibson
Jonathan Skinner

Committee on the Status of Minority Groups in the Economics Profession (CSMGEP)

Cecilia Rouse, Co-chair
Gary Hoover, Co-chair
Francisca Antman
C. Kirabo Jackson
Rucker Johnson
Trevon Logan
Fernando Lozano
Lisa Saunders
Gustavo A. Suarez
Ebonya Washington
Patrick Mason, ex officio

Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession (CSWEP)

Marjorie McElroy, Chair
Bevin Ashenmiller
Cecilia Conrad
Linda Goldberg
Kevin Lang
Amalia Miller
Serena Ng
Ragan A. Petrie
Kosali Simon
Petra Todd
Anne Winkler
Madeline Zavodny

2014 Nominating Committee

Orley Ashenfelter, Chair
Susan Collins
Steven Davis
Paul Milgrom
Nancy Rose
James P. Smith
Michael Woodford
Gary Yohe

Oversight Committee for Registry of Random Controlled Trials

Lawrence Katz, Chair
Esther Duflo
Penny Goldberg
Duncan Thomas

Ad Hoc Committee on Job Market Systems Design and Implementation

Nancy L. Rose, chair
John H. Cawley
Peter A. Coles
Paul Milgrom
Jesse Shapiro
Peter Rousseau, ex officio

American Association for the Advancement of Science, Sec. K, Social, Economic, and Political Sciences Representative

Charles Manski

American Council of Learned Societies Delegate

Charlotte Kuh, Delegate
Peter L. Rousseau, Council of Administrative Officers, ex officio

Consortium of Social Science Associations

Robert Moffitt
Peter L. Rousseau

Council of Professional Associations on Federal Statistics Representative (COPAFS)

Barbara Fraumeni
Peter L. Rousseau

International Economic Association Representative

Daron Acemoglu

National Bureau of Economic Research Director

Peter L. Rousseau

Social Science Research Council Representative


Contents of Current Issues

July 2014 AEJ: Applied

July 2014 AEJ: Macro

July 2014 AER

June 2014 JEL

Spring 2014 JEP

May 2014 AEJ: Policy

May 2014 AEJ: Micro

Virtual Field Journals

In the News:

University of Chicago economics professor, Matthew Gentzkow, who is the AEA's 2014 John Bates Clark Medal recipient, discusses the future of economics, the state of the media ecosphere, and virtues of "data hustle" in this interview from Quartz.

A recent article in The Economist examines higher education endowments and university behaviors including new research presented in a paper from the latest edition of the American Economic Review.

"For economists, the tradition of keeping mum—at least as a national organization—is long and proud. 'The association as such will take no partisan attitude, nor will it commit its members to any position on practical economic questions,' the economic association states on its website. Those policies, says its president, William D. Nordhaus, a professor at Yale University, by email, 'have served it well through hot and cold wars.'"

"Not only do economists vary widely in their opinions of economic policy, he notes, but many have participated in helping shape such policies. Putting forth statements on political issues would be 'unnecessary, polarizing, controversy-stoking, and a distraction from the real and important work of economic research and education,' he says. (Mr. Nordhaus was, of course, speaking for himself and not the association.)"

Read the whole story in the The Chronicle of Higher Education (subscribers only).

From ASSA 2014: The Wall Street Journal reports on the AEA's CSWEP committee's efforts in mentoring early-career female economists and the program's expanding influence on similar programs being developed overseas. Read the full article here.

The Chronicle of Higher Education just published "Cool Head on Global Warming," an in-depth look at the new book by 2014 AEA President, William Nordhaus entitled, "The Climate Casino: Risk, Uncertainty and Economics for a Warming World" (Yale University Press).

The Atlantic Cities provides a thorough examination of Clifford Winston's (Brooking Institution) research, "On The Performance of the U.S. Transportation System: Caution Ahead," from the latest edition of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL).

Upcoming research by Yang Wang, a health economist at Lafayette College, indicates that some smokers believe age, race, and parental longevity influence their life expectancy more than smoking does. Access the news brief here, or the forthcoming article from the American Economic Journal: Applied Economics.

AEA in News Archive

Contact us