CSWEP: Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession

CSWEP (the Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession) is a standing committee of the American Economic Association charged with serving professional women economists in academia, government agencies and elsewhere by promoting their careers and monitoring their progress. CSWEP activities endeavor to raise the awareness among men and women of the challenges that are unique to women’s careers and can be addressed with a wide variety of actions, from inclusive searches to formal and informal mentoring activities. CSWEP freely disseminates information on how the profession works as well as advice to junior economists. We intend this information to be of value to all economists, male or female, minority or not. New to CSWEP?  Click here for a quick guide to CSWEP activities.

The Summer 2014 CSWEP News is now available for download.

Keep up with all CSWEP activities with a free digital subscription to the CSWEP Newsletter!

"I read the CSWEP news from cover to cover.  It is the only journal/newsletter that I read in its entirety," -- Claudia Goldin, AEA President.

"The Winter 2013 Newsletter, particularly the Navigating the Tenure Process articles, is great and will be assigned reading for our junior faculty." -- John Solow, Professor and DEO, Department of Economics, University of Iowa.

Nominations are officially open for the 2014 Elaine Bennett Research Prize and the 2014 Carolyn Shaw Bell Award with materials due in late September.  Click here for more info.  CSWEP’s most recent recipients are:

Anna Mikusheva, winner of the 2012 Elaine Bennett Research PrizeAnna Mikusheva, the Castle-Krob Associate Professor of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, is the recipient of the 2012 Elaine Bennett Research Prize. The Elaine Bennett Research Prize was established in 1998 to recognize and honor outstanding research in any field of economics by a woman at the beginning of her career. Professor Mikusheva is recognized for her important contributions to econometric theory. Her research, which combines a powerful command of econometric theory with a keen interest in developing tools that will be useful for tackling problems in applied econometric practice, has advanced econometric inference in time series and dynamic stochastic general equilibrium models. See http://www.aeaweb.org/committees/cswep/awards/ for the full announcement.

Rachel McCulloch, recipient of the 2013 Carolyn Shaw Bell AwardRachel McCulloch, the Rosen Family Professor Emerita of International Finance in the Department of Economics and International Business School at Brandeis University, is the recipient of the 2013 Carolyn Shaw Bell Award. Over a 40-year career, Professor McCulloch distinguished herself as a leader in international trade and economic policy. Using a deep understanding of theory, coupled with a rare understanding of both the relevant economic history and complex institutional and legal arrangements, she weighed in on virtually all of the major trade debates of her time. Over these same four decades she folded mentoring into all aspects of her of scholarship, teaching, and service to the economics profession; and served as an inspiring role model for many women. Through her mentoring of generations of students, from undergraduates to doctoral candidates, Professor McCulloch has motivated countless individuals, both male and female, to pursue distinguished careers in the discipline. Click here for the full announcement.


Search the CSWEP site via Google: Newsletters are included in the search  

Any suggestions or comments can be e-mailed to: cswep@econ.duke.edu

Search the CSWEP site via Google: Newsletters are included in the search    

CSWEP Home Page




Mentoring and Networking

CSWEP @ AEA Meetings

CSWEP @ Regional Meetings

Bell Award

Bennett Prize

Annual Report

Calls and Announcements

Other Resources

Become An Affiliate