The American Economic Review

The American Economic Review is a general-interest economics journal. Established in 1911, the AER is among the nation's oldest and most respected scholarly journals in the economics profession and is celebrating over 100 years of publishing! The journal publishes 11 issues containing articles on a broad range of topics as well as the Papers and Proceedings issue in May, which presents selected papers from the AEA's annual meeting along with the reports of officers and committees.

Current Issue: Volume 104, Issue 7, July 2014

Special Announcement:

Professor George H. Borts, past editor-in-chief of the American Economic Review, passed away on Friday May 2, 2014. He was editor-in-chief of the Review for 11 years, from 1969 to 1980, and he oversaw a major expansion of the journal and the publication of many landmark papers. We are saddened by his loss and grateful for his service to the journal and profession.

Professor Borts was the George S. and Nancy B. Parker Professor Emeritus of Economics at Brown University, where he served on the faculty from 1950 to 2013. He received an A.B. in economics and history from Columbia University and a PhD in economics from the University of Chicago. He made important contributions to the fields of transportation economics, industrial organization, and international finance. He will be deeply missed by his colleagues, students, and many friends.

Special Announcement to Authors:
Effective July 1, 2012

Beginning July 1, 2012, all submissions to AEA journals, including revisions of previously submitted papers, must be accompanied by a Disclosure Statement. This is applicable even when the authors have no relevant interests to disclose. Authors will need to provide a separate Disclosure Statement for each coauthor at the time of submission. Submissions that do not include the statements will be considered incomplete and will not be reviewed. Please see the complete Disclosure Policy.

Editorial Staff

Pinelopi Koujianou Goldberg
Yale University

Mark Aguiar,
Princeton University
Marianne Bertrand,
University of Chicago
Martin Eichenbaum,
Northwestern University
Hilary Hoynes,
University of California, Berkeley
Luigi Pistaferri,
Stanford University
Debraj Ray,
New York University
Larry Samuelson,
Yale University
Andrzej Skrzypacz,
Stanford University

Steve Stelling
Managing Editor

Kelly Markel
Matthew A. Roberson
Assistant Managing Editors

Emilee Stanford
Editorial Assistant


Correspondence Regarding Submissions:

2403 Sidney Street, Suite 260
Pittsburgh, PA 15203

Phone: 412-432-2300
Fax: 412-431-3014
Email: info "at"

Papers and Proceedings Editor:
William R. Johnson, University of Virginia

Papers and Proceedings Correspondence:
Phone: 412-432-5738
Email: pandp "at"

AER Board of Editors

Manuel Amador
Pol Antràs
Marco Bassetto
Simon Board
Craig Burnside
Ariel Burstein
Steven Callander
Sylvain Chassang
Dirk Engelmann
Timothy Feddersen
Michael Fishman
Roland Fryer
William Fuchs
Gautam Gowrisankaran
Veronica Guerrieri
Igal Hendel
Katherine Ho
Eric Hurst
Seema Jayachandran
Navin Kartik
Brian Knight
Ilan Kremer
Arvind Krishnamurthy
Gilat Levy
Bart Lipman
Hamish Low
Shelly Lundberg
Matthew Mitchell
Dilip Mookherjee
Giuseppe Moscarini
Philip Oreopoulos
Ted O'Donoghue
Jonathan Parker
Parag Pathak
Nina Pavcnik
Fabrizio Perri
Ricardo Reis
Jesse Rothstein
Edward Schlee
Rajiv Sethi
Jón Steinsson
Amir Sufi
Christopher Timmins
Sarah Turner
Eric Verhoogen
Leeat Yariv

Past Editors and Coeditors of the
American Economic Review


The American Economic Review

Report of the Editor


AEA Disclosure Policy

Information for Authors

Information for Reviewers

Papers and Proceedings

Subscription Information

Issues and Articles

July 2014 AER

Previous Issues

Forthcoming Articles

Search Articles

Full Issue PDF Download


eTOC Alert for AER

Follow us on Twitter

SGML Encoded Citations

Virtual Field Journals

Athens Login (for Athens Subscribers only)


Mark Aguiar joined the AER Editorial Board as Coeditor, effective January 1, 2014.

Hilary Hoynes began serving a second three-year term as Coeditor of the AER, effective January 1, 2014.

Marianne Bertrand and Debraj Ray will each begin second three-year terms as Coeditors of the AER, effective July 1, 2014.

Luigi Pistaferri will serve a second three-year term as Coeditor of the AER, effective January 1, 2015.

John Leahy will join the AER Editorial Board as Coeditor, effective January 1, 2015.

The coeditors of the AER would like to acknowledge our Excellence in Refereeing Award recipients!

Contact Us